parkrun NZ Stats 04/02/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for February 4, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 40 parkruns with 5480 (+2304) parkrunners and 534 (+151) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

410 (-16) people got their parkrun barcode this week

361 (+160) ran their first parkrun this week

555 (+126) achieved personal bests this week

30 (+3) volunteered for the first time

27 (+13) new age category records were set.

8 (+2) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand increased to 31:23.

There were no new course records this week.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 58:07, 103.61% in the VM95-99 age group.


19 parkrunners joined the J10 club

33 parkrunners joined the 25 club

20 parkrunners joined the 50 club

4 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

  • Gisborne: Brent Norris
  • Millwater: Paul Yau
  • Puarenga: Philip Gaffaney
  • Tauranga: Adam Bentley

1 parkrunner joined the 250 club:

  • Hagley: Lindsay Sandford

7 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Kerry Powlesland, Joanne James, Louise Macfarlane, Barry Williamson, Alison Speakman, Paul Brouwers and Jennie Cade.

Sally Houliston achieved her v50 milestone at Anderson.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Cornwall Park (267), Lower Hutt (312), Hagley (473).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Lake2Lake Trail (40), Hamilton Park (30), Balclutha (24).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

21 parkruns had higher attendance

8 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Whangarei, with a change of 95.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Russell Park with a change of 206%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Hagley with a change of -56.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Balclutha with a change of -35%.

Attendance Records

Two parkruns set new attendance records:

Ara Harakeke (155, up from 146 set on January 21, 2023)

Whangarei (245, up from 221 set on January 14, 2023)

NZ Anniversaries




PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Whangarei (38), Hamilton Lake (32), Lower Hutt (32), Hagley (29) and Ara Harakeke (26).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Whakatane Gardens (12 or 21%), Russell Park (10 or 19%), Broad Park (24 or 18%), Ara Harakeke (26 or 17%) and University of Waikato (14 or 17%).

The most first timers were at Queenstown (76), Hagley (64), Lower Hutt (51), Ara Harakeke (46) and Wanaka (42).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Queenstown (76 or 47%), Lake2Lake Trail (14 or 35%), Wanaka (42 or 35%), Otaki River (14 or 33%) and Blenheim (18 or 31%).

The fastest among us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Pegasus in 17:19.
  2. Katie Evans (SW30-34) running Hobsonville Point in 18:39 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Kimberley Iversen (JW15-17) running Invercargill in 18:45.
  4. Tina Cox (VW40-44) running Pegasus in 19:23.
  5. Rachael Smith (VW45-49) running Pegasus in 20:15.
  6. Louise Daly (SW20-24) running Hagley in 20:28.
  7. Becky Blay (SW18-19) running Pegasus in 20:43.
  8. Krystyna Knight (SW25-29) running Kapiti Coast in 20:53 for the first time.
  9. Noreen Crombie (VW55-59) running Tauranga in 21:46.
  10. Shireen Crumpton (VW50-54) running Dunedin in 22:15 setting herself a new PB.
  11. Michele Allison (VW65-69) running Blenheim in 22:22 for the first time.
  12. Grace Lucas (JW11-14) running Ara Harakeke in 23:15 for the first time.
  13. Penelope Jane Barber (VW60-64) running East End in 23:23 for the first time.
  14. Kiana Wealleans (JW10) running Trentham Memorial in 24:20.
  15. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 25:55.
  16. Diana Kittow (VW80-84) running Russell Park in 33:13.
  17. Julie Gilbert (VW75-79) running Palmerston North in 35:39.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 51:47.

The 20 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Giles Witt (SM18-19) running Pegasus in 16:10.
  2. Mike Robinson (VM35-39) running Gisborne in 16:14.
  3. Jonathan Jackson (SM30-34) running Hobsonville Point in 16:31 for the first time.
  4. Ruan Meintjies (SM25-29) running Sherwood Reserve in 16:42 setting himself a new PB.
  5. Aj Cornwall (VM45-49) running Palmerston North in 16:46 setting himself a new PB.
  6. Kaya Henderson Corporaal (SM20-24) running Puarenga in 17:26 setting himself a new PB.
  7. Cohnor Walsh (JM11-14) running Pegasus in 17:44 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Max Poland (JM15-17) running Trentham Memorial in 17:53.
  9. Rob Boughton (VM40-44) running Hagley in 18:13.
  10. Grant Mclean (VM55-59) running Trentham Memorial in 18:21.
  11. Adrian Royce (VM50-54) running Lower Hutt in 18:23 for the first time.
  12. Peter Richards (VM60-64) running Foster in 18:44.
  13. C J Iversen (JM10) running Invercargill in 20:41.
  14. Paul Ritchie (VM65-69) running Taupo in 21:37.
  15. Gary Kirkman (VM70-74) running Lake2Lake Trail in 22:46 setting himself a new PB.
  16. Roger Robinson (VM80-84) running Trentham Memorial in 26:03 for the first time.
  17. John Billing (VM75-79) running East End in 26:58.
  18. Garry Humpherson (VM85-89) running Whakatane Gardens in 33:52.
  19. Mike Batchelor (SM—) running Whangarei in 42:09.
  20. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 58:07.

Record Setters

There were 24 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 countrymen can be found here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for additional stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *