parkrun NZ Stats 11/02/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for February 11, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 40 parkruns with 5306 (-174) parkrunners and 552 (+28) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

423 (+13) people got their parkrun barcode this week

339 (-22) ran their first parkrun this week

863 (+308) achieved personal bests this week

40 (+10) volunteered for the first time

24 (-3) new age category records were set.

5 (-3) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:23.

There were two new course records this week. Amanda Waldron ran 18:40 at Russell Park and Jamie Coulter-Smyth ran 16:44 at Broad Park.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 52:50, 113.97% in the VM95-99 age group.


16 parkrunners joined the J10 club

35 parkrunners joined the 25 club

20 parkrunners joined the 50 club

14 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

  • Anderson: Mike Hayes
  • East End: Joanne Quinn
  • Flaxmere: Amber Thorburn, Tu Nguyen
  • Hamilton Lake: Stuart Archer
  • Hobsonville Point: Jay Trim
  • Lake2Lake Trail: Sophie Stokes
  • Lower Hutt: Deanna Aguila, Christine Clarke, Matt Torbit
  • Owairaka: Sheralee Cleland
  • Western Springs: Sandra Haynes, Janki Patel
  • Whangarei: Tim Goodwin, Jacqueline Schofield

3 parkrunners joined the 250 club:

  • Flaxmere: Michael John Leary
  • Hamilton Lake: Graham Bluett
  • Lower Hutt: Briony Hibberd

4 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Michelle Holmes, Sandra Hulse, Richard Saint and Nadia Morgan.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Cornwall Park (275), Lower Hutt (307), Hagley (514).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Lake2Lake Trail (31), Hamilton Park (31), Balclutha (29).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

18 parkruns had higher attendance

22 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Puarenga, with a change of 43.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Puarenga with a change of 49%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Millwater with a change of -82.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Millwater with a change of -35%.

Attendance Records

No parkruns set new attendance records.

NZ Anniversaries

Hamilton Park (1)

Invercargill (5)

Whangarei (7)



PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (82), Lower Hutt (47), Foster (44), Ara Harakeke (43) and Cornwall (42).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Russell Park (15 or 42%), Ara Harakeke (43 or 32%), Whakatane Gardens (17 or 28%), Foster (44 or 28%) and Hamilton Park (8 or 26%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (90), Puarenga (62), Cornwall (57), Queenstown (44) and Lower Hutt (43).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Puarenga (62 or 48%), Lake2Lake Trail (12 or 39%), Queenstown (44 or 35%), Wanaka (27 or 31%) and Otaki River (10 or 30%).

The fastest among us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Amanda Waldron (SW25-29) running Russell Park in 18:50 setting herself a new PB.
  2. Nicola Corinne Handley (VW40-44) running Hagley in 19:11.
  3. Renee Biggs (SW18-19) running Palmerston North in 19:31 setting herself a new PB.
  4. Nicole Sattler (VW35-39) running Taupo in 19:49.
  5. Lorna Pairman (SW20-24) running Foster in 19:53 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Zoe Hilton (JW11-14) running Trentham Memorial in 19:55.
  7. Holly Mckinlay (SW30-34) running Whanganui Riverbank in 20:31 setting herself a new PB.
  8. Angela Hawkes (VW45-49) running Millwater in 20:47.
  9. Wendy Richards (VW50-54) running Foster in 21:51.
  10. Christine Adamson (VW65-69) running Hobsonville Point in 21:51.
  11. Suzanne Mackie (VW55-59) running Hagley in 21:52.
  12. Ava Gatie (JW15-17) running Puarenga in 22:18 setting herself a new PB.
  13. Dianne Davis (VW60-64) running Foster in 24:24.
  14. Ruby Needham (JW10) running Hamilton Lake in 24:52 setting herself a new PB.
  15. Judith Stewart (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 26:09.
  16. Diana Kittow (VW80-84) running Russell Park in 32:38 setting herself a new PB.
  17. Julie Gilbert (VW75-79) running Palmerston North in 35:41.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 51:37.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Simon Mace (VM45-49) running Hobsonville Point in 16:36.
  2. Robert Smith (SM25-29) running Wanaka in 16:42 for the first time.
  3. Josh Jordan (JM15-17) running Trentham Memorial in 16:44.
  4. Brian Garmonsway (VM40-44) running Trentham Memorial in 16:46.
  5. Lee Cook (VM35-39) running Queenstown in 17:01.
  6. Benjamin Anderson (SM30-34) running Cornwall in 17:11 for the first time.
  7. Keegan Nathaniel Chin (SM20-24) running Hagley in 17:58.
  8. James Parker (VM50-54) running Owairaka in 18:11.
  9. Nic Ratcliffe (JM11-14) running Anderson in 18:13 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Flynn Register (SM18-19) running Blenheim in 18:36.
  11. Greg Penn (VM60-64) running Cornwall in 18:47 for the first time.
  12. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Sherwood Reserve in 19:17 for the first time.
  13. Tadhg Pierse (JM10) running Lower Hutt in 20:59 setting himself a new PB.
  14. Stephen Lindsay (VM65-69) running Anderson in 21:39.
  15. Kevin Rolls (VM70-74) running Palmerston North in 23:17.
  16. Ron Crowhurst (VM75-79) running Whangarei in 25:14.
  17. Mervyn Burt (VM80-84) running Pegasus in 32:02.
  18. Graham Richardson (VM85-89) running Cornwall in 42:51.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 52:50.

Record Setters

There were 22 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 countrymen can be found here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for additional stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *