parkrun NZ stats 31/07/2021

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for July 31, 2021

In New Zealand there were 33 parkruns, with 3268 (-153) parkrunners and 395 (+5) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

200 (+25) people got their parkrun barcode this week

133 (+9) ran their first parkrun this week

348 (-48) achieved personal bests this week

34 (+9) volunteered for the first time

14 (-7) new age category records were set

5 (-2) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average run time in New Zealand remains 31:00.

There were no new course records this week.

The top age graded runner was Judith Stewart at Whangarei with a time of 25:56, 88.75% in the VW70-74 age group.


16 parkrunners joined the 50 club

10 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Stuart Smith, Sarah Wilkinson, Sue Beale, Shaun CooperKerry PowerMike Urquhart, Steve Macdonald, Peter Hall, Jan Heijnen, Simone Hadley and Amanda Jayne Sellers.

No parkrunners joined the 250 club

7 parkrunners achieved their V25 milestone – Jim Newbould, James McLennan, Vicki Early, Christine Stowell-Collett, Linda Simpson, Neville Ferguson and John Kelly,


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Lower Hutt (172), Cornwall Park (222), Hagley (296).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Greytown Woodside Trail (35), Whanganui Riverbank (24), Balclutha (23).

There were no new attendance records.

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

15 parkruns had higher attendance

17 parkruns had lower attendance than last week

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Pegasus, with a change of 48.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Pegasus with a change of 84%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Sherwood Reserve with a change of -31.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Greytown Woodside Trail with a change of -44%.

NZ Anniversaries



Taupo – Taupo marathon course change clashes with event

Personal Bests

The most PBs were at Cornwall (32), Sherwood Reserve (25), Hagley (20), Trentham Memorial (18) and Owairaka (17).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Sherwood Reserve (25 or 32%), Owairaka (17 or 25%), Trentham Memorial (18 or 22%), University of Waikato (10 or 18%) and Wanaka (7 or 16%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (SW30-34) running Pegasus in 17:18.
  2. Charli Miller (SW18-19) running University of Waikato in 17:59 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Miranda Spencer (SW25-29) running Lower Hutt in 18:46 for the first time.
  4. Katie Wyrill (VW35-39) running Millwater in 18:59.
  5. Miriam Clark (SW20-24) running Hagley in 19:33 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Hayley Cornwall (JW11-14) running Palmerston North in 19:38.
  7. Tara Sacke (JW15-17) running Hamilton Lake in 20:04 for the first time.
  8. Katie Jenkins (VW45-49) running Porirua in 20:13 setting herself a new PB.
  9. Jo Ryder (VW40-44) running Porirua in 21:31.
  10. Suzanne Mackie (VW55-59) running Hagley in 21:35.
  11. Carolyn Marshall (VW50-54) running Kapiti Coast in 21:49.
  12. Marcia Hunter (VW60-64) running Palmerston North in 23:37 for the first time.
  13. Brooke Martin (JW10) running Porirua in 24:42.
  14. Judith Stewart (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 25:56.
  15. Anna Kenna (VW65-69) running Kapiti Coast in 27:33.
  16. Pauline Lane (VW75-79) running Hagley in 37:23.
  17. Joan Cheadle (VW80-84) running Cornwall in 46:13.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Harvey Williams (JM15-17) running Hamilton Lake in 16:26 setting himself a new PB.
  2. Ben Hitchcock (SM25-29) running East End in 16:26 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Ben Bidois (SM18-19) running University of Waikato in 16:28.
  4. Shanon Stallard (VM40-44) running East End in 16:45 setting himself a new PB.
  5. Simon Kerr (VM35-39) running Hagley in 16:51.
  6. Alex Witt (SM20-24) running Pegasus in 17:01 setting himself a new PB.
  7. Doug Moore (SM30-34) running Gisborne in 17:10 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Gene Rand (VM45-49) running Millwater in 17:23.
  9. Daniel Clement (JM11-14) running Millwater in 18:44 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Grant Lincoln (VM50-54) running Barry Curtis in 18:45.
  11. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Puarenga in 19:28 setting himself a new PB.
  12. John Wallace (VM60-64) running Invercargill in 19:49 setting himself a new PB.
  13. Henry Eyles (JM10) running Invercargill in 20:30 setting himself a new PB.
  14. Steve Fairley (VM65-69) running Puarenga in 21:17 for the first time.
  15. John Thomson (VM70-74) running Dunedin in 24:08.
  16. Geoff Rashbrooke (VM75-79) running Lower Hutt in 27:47.
  17. David Hamilton (VM80-84) running Millwater in 30:37 for the first time.
  18. Ray Turner (VM85-89) running Cornwall in 39:02.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 55:29.
New age category records

There were 14 age category records broken this week:

Kudos to the vollies

A shout out to our top 100 statespeople who chose to volunteer this weekend: Martin , Liz , Joce and Andrew at Lower Hutt , Nneka , Wendy , Cameron and Andrew at Flaxmere , Christine , Sarah and Allan at Trentham Memorial , Andrew and Scott at Sherwood Reserve , Paul at Greytown Woodside Trail , Andy at Whangarei , Grant at Barry Curtis , Dan at Kapiti Coast , Hans at Anderson , Russell at Puarenga , Judy at Whanganui Riverbank , Michael at Western Springs , and Suzy at Foster

Top 100 countrymen is based on the most events table, which shows parkrunners who have run at 15 or most New Zealand events. There’s no other volunteer data available other than what is in these stats.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Issue-4-ad-1024x577.png

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *