parkrun NZ stats 24/07/2021

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for July 24, 2021

In New Zealand there were 34 parkruns, with 3421 (+991) parkrunners and 390 (+21) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

175 (-28) people got their parkrun barcode this week

124 (+31) ran their first parkrun this week

396 (+219) achieved personal bests this week

25 (-9) volunteered for the first time

21 (+2) new age category records were set

7 (+1) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average run time in New Zealand remains 31:00.

There were three new course records this week: George Hamilton: 16:42 at Dunedin; Daniel Jones: 15:17 at Lower Hutt; Shamiso Sisimayi: 21:00 at Sherwood Reserve.

The top age graded runner was Steve Morrow at Gisborne with a time of 16:30, 86.57% in the VM45-49 age group.


11 parkrunners joined the 50 club

10 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Alan Papps, Gareth JonesFoster, Andrew Lingard, Jill Callon , Wahren Hensley , Tobi Mckellar, Mike Ruediger, Jacob Moolman, Julie Collard and William Dawson.

1 parkrunner joined the 250 club – congratulations to Brian Salton (Hobsonville Point).

2 parkrunners achieved their V25 milestone – Neil Wareing and Rosalind Kelly,


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Millwater Park (181), Cornwall Park (232), Hagley (285).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Flaxmere (33), Whanganui Riverbank (32), Balclutha (19).

There were no new attendance records.

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

25 parkruns had higher attendance

7 parkruns had lower attendance than last week

University of Waikato parkrun had the same attendance as the week prior, with 42 parkrunners.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Lower Hutt, with a change of 116.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Blenheim with a change of 487%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Pegasus with a change of -39.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Pegasus with a change of -41%.

NZ Anniversaries

Cornwall Park (9)



Personal Bests

The most PBs were at Sherwood Reserve (29), Hobsonville Point (26), Tauranga (23), Trentham Memorial (20) and Whangarei (19).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Trentham Memorial (20 or 30%), Sherwood Reserve (29 or 27%), University of Waikato (10 or 24%), Gisborne (16 or 23%) and Owairaka (14 or 19%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Fiona Docherty – Olsen (VW45-49) running Taupo in 19:09.
  2. Lucy Jurke (JW15-17) running Porirua in 19:09 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Anna Williams (SW30-34) running Anderson in 19:42.
  4. Hannah Wade (JW11-14) running Porirua in 19:57.
  5. Emily Register (SW20-24) running Hobsonville Point in 20:04 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Brianna Lee (SW18-19) running Cornwall in 20:32 setting herself a new PB.
  7. Michelle Ashley (SW25-29) running Lower Hutt in 20:41 setting herself a new PB.
  8. Shamiso Sisimayi (VW40-44) running Sherwood Reserve in 21:00 for the first time.
  9. Sarah Gibby (VW35-39) running Whangarei in 21:02 setting herself a new PB.
  10. Angela Clark (VW50-54) running Porirua in 21:14 setting herself a new PB.
  11. Suzanne Mackie (VW55-59) running Hagley in 21:25.
  12. Meg Christie (VW60-64) running Hagley in 23:38.
  13. Connie Reed (JW10) running Lower Hutt in 23:49.
  14. Annie Van Herck (VW65-69) running Porirua in 26:43.
  15. Carey Dickason (VW70-74) running Blenheim in 27:37.
  16. Anna Reid (VW75-79) running Hagley in 32:49.
  17. Sheila Waters (VW80-84) running Blenheim in 43:02.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Daniel Jones (SM30-34) running Lower Hutt in 15:17 for the first time.
  2. Steve Morrow (VM45-49) running Gisborne in 16:30 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Josh Jordan (JM15-17) running Trentham Memorial in 16:36 setting himself a new PB.
  4. Mike Robinson (VM35-39) running Gisborne in 16:53.
  5. Mark Reid (VM50-54) running Pegasus in 17:21.
  6. Seamus Kelly (SM20-24) running Western Springs in 17:49 for the first time.
  7. Russell Nye-wood (SM25-29) running Invercargill in 18:00.
  8. Hassan Mccall (JM11-14) running Trentham Memorial in 18:04.
  9. Paul Overend (VM40-44) running Hagley in 18:19 for the first time.
  10. Joseph Mclean (JM10) running Western Springs in 19:29 setting himself a new PB.
  11. Taylor Sweeney (SM18-19) running Queenstown in 19:42 for the first time.
  12. Warwick Smith (VM55-59) running Lower Hutt in 19:44.
  13. Gregory Parker (VM60-64) running Gisborne in 20:31.
  14. Dawei Guo (VM65-69) running Hobsonville Point in 21:19.
  15. Eric Phimister (VM70-74) running Puarenga in 21:50 for the first time.
  16. Rod Gill (VM75-79) running Hamilton Lake in 27:21.
  17. Graham Wood (VM80-84) running Pegasus in 31:24.
  18. Ray Turner (VM85-89) running Cornwall in 40:47.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 56:39.
New age category records

There were 21 age category records broken this week:

Kudos to the vollies

A shout out to our top 100 statespeople who chose to volunteer this weekend: Martin , Liz and Allan at Trentham Memorial , Nneka , Roslyn and Cameron at Anderson , Andrew and Scott at Sherwood Reserve , Julia and Paul at Lower Hutt , Wendy and Nigel at Millwater , Alison and David at Puarenga , Rebecca at Greytown Woodside Trail , Dan at Invercargill , Samantha at Hamilton Lake , Gail at Dunedin , Joce and Andrew at Flaxmere , Judy at Whanganui Riverbank , and Helen and Paul at Whangarei

Top 100 countrymen is based on the most events table, which shows parkrunners who have run at 15 or most New Zealand events. There’s no other volunteer data available other than what is in these stats.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Issue-4-ad-1024x577.png

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *