parkrun NZ Stats 22/04/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for April 22, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 40 parkruns with 4536 (-1106) parkrunners and 554 (+6) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

447 (-109) people got their parkrun barcode this week

243 (-154) ran their first parkrun this week

530 (-232) achieved personal bests this week

45 (+13) volunteered for the first time

15 (-10) new age category records were set

6 (+1) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:28.

There were no new course records this week.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 56:56, 105.77% in the VM95-99 age group.


7 parkrunners joined the J10 club

40 parkrunners joined the 25 club

14 parkrunners joined the 50 club

16 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

  • Anderson: Lucy Molony
  • Ara Harakeke: Barbara Jennings, Sarah Pirikahu
  • Broad Park: John Bannon
  • Dunedin: Sue Hendry
  • Flaxmere: Darren Myles
  • Hagley: Luke Weaver, Joey Weaver
  • Hamilton Lake: Takako Smart
  • Invercargill: Marcia Ferguson, Andrea Lebreton
  • Lake2Lake Trail: Jacqueline Penry
  • Lower Hutt: Heather Sinclair
  • Millwater: Zoe Wilson
  • Owairaka: Shirley Tang
  • Puarenga: Matt Parsonage
  • Whangarei: Paul Greenwood

4 parkrunners joined the 250 club

  • Barry Curtis: Ronald Lobjoit
  • Palmerston North: Peter Mckenzie
  • Pegasus: Trudi Diggs, Jackie Hancock

10 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Laura Cardwell, Tracy Utting-Buchanan, Craig Ironside, Eli Webber, Justine Esposito, Eleanor Trueman, Monique Le Lievre and Dennis Langford.

Frank Rands and Kerry Attwood achieved their v100 at Millwater, Christine Hall achieved her v100 at Cambridge NZ. Stuart Charters achieved his v50 at Foster.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Cornwall Park (200), Dunedin (253), Hagley (472).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Whakatane Gardens (32), Greytown Woodside Trail (31), Russell Park (27).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

15 parkruns had higher attendance

24 parkruns had lower attendance

Blenheim recorded the same attendance as last week with 69.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Wanaka, with a change of 62.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Wanaka with a change of 65%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Cornwall Park with a change of -124.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was East End with a change of -56%.

Attendance Records


NZ Anniversaries

Tauranga (5)


Kapiti Coast (Flooding;Waikanae River has overtopped the course)

PBs & First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (58), Waitangi (38), Dunedin (37), Foster (26) and Invercargill (22).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Ara Harakeke (20 or 25%), Waitangi (38 or 24%), Hamilton Park (10 or 23%), Whakatane Gardens (6 or 19%) and Foster (26 or 18%).

The most first timers were at Waitangi (56), Hagley (48), Queenstown (44), Wanaka (35) and Dunedin (31).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Queenstown (44 or 51%), Waitangi (56 or 36%), Wanaka (35 or 28%), Lake2Lake Trail (13 or 25%) and Hamilton Park (11 or 25%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Esther George (SW30-34) running Lower Hutt in 17:26 setting herself a new PB.
  2. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Foster in 17:27.
  3. Bella Earl (JW15-17) running Whangarei in 19:20.
  4. Louise Daly (SW20-24) running Hagley in 19:31.
  5. Rebecca Forgesson (SW25-29) running Blenheim in 19:31 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Teresa Blackmore (VW45-49) running Hagley in 19:57 setting herself a new PB.
  7. Becky Blay (SW18-19) running Pegasus in 20:36.
  8. Fleur Pawsey (VW40-44) running Broad Park in 21:16.
  9. Abby Oboyle (JW11-14) running Invercargill in 21:44 for the first time.
  10. Shireen Crumpton (VW50-54) running Dunedin in 22:04 setting herself a new PB.
  11. Kiana Wealleans (JW10) running Ara Harakeke in 22:25 for the first time.
  12. Carolyn Marshall (VW55-59) running Puarenga in 22:26.
  13. Marcia Hunter (VW60-64) running Greytown Woodside Trail in 23:59.
  14. Jackie Grant (VW65-69) running Puarenga in 26:07.
  15. Lynnley Driver (VW70-74) running Pegasus in 30:05.
  16. Diana Kittow (VW80-84) running Russell Park in 33:26.
  17. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 39:09.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Mike Robinson (VM35-39) running Gisborne in 15:39 setting himself a new PB.
  2. William O’connor (SM30-34) running Millwater in 16:23 setting himself a new PB.
  3. James Mcleay (JM15-17) running Lake2Lake Trail in 16:31.
  4. Steve Morrow (VM45-49) running Gisborne in 17:05.
  5. Jackson Cole (SM25-29) running Waitangi in 17:11 for the first time.
  6. Matt Parsonage (VM40-44) running Puarenga in 17:14.
  7. Aled Lees (SM20-24) running Waitangi in 17:18 for the first time.
  8. Grant Mclean (VM55-59) running Whanganui Riverbank in 17:22.
  9. Nic Ratcliffe (JM11-14) running Anderson in 18:31.
  10. Darren Gordon (VM50-54) running Lower Hutt in 18:42.
  11. Jack Coleslaw (SM18-19) running Foster in 18:56 setting himself a new PB.
  12. Bruce Edwards (VM60-64) running Puarenga in 19:00.
  13. Tadhg Pierse (JM10) running Waitangi in 19:55 setting himself a new PB.
  14. Gregory Parker (VM65-69) running Gisborne in 20:37.
  15. Keith Henderson (VM70-74) running Russell Park in 24:52.
  16. Ron Crowhurst (VM75-79) running Whangarei in 25:02.
  17. Fred Smith (VM80-84) running Millwater in 28:58.
  18. Geoff Foreman (VM85-89) running Gisborne in 49:34.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 56:56.

Record breakers

There were 14 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 Countrymen can be viewed here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *