parkrun NZ Stats 15/04/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for April 15, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 41 parkruns with 5642 (-247) parkrunners and 548 (-32) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

556 (-241) people got their parkrun barcode this week

397 (-22) ran their first parkrun this week

762 (-87) achieved personal bests this week

32 (-26) volunteered for the first time

25 (-11) new age category records were set

5 (-6) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:28.

There were no new course records this week.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 54:58, 109.55% in the VM95-99 age group.


24 parkrunners joined the 50 club

14 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

2 parkrunners joined the 250 club

10 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Olaf Hirczy, Nancy Taylor, Anna Gatie, Helen O’Shaughnessy, Theo Miners, Roland Pinches, Giarna Treadwell, Christine Hosking, Maurice van Leimpd and Antoinette Smith.

Mark O’Sullivan achieved his v100 at Ōtaki River, Allan Hartley achieved his v100 at Trentham Memorial, Kyra Tuffery achieved her v100 at Cambridge.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Lower Hutt (264), Cornwall Park (324), Hagley (452).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Ōtaki River (38), Lake2Lake Trail (33), Hamilton Park (27).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

15 parkruns had higher attendance

26 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Hobsonville Point, with a change of 77.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Gisborne with a change of 149%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Queenstown with a change of -75.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Whakatane Gardens with a change of -41%.

Attendance Records


NZ Anniversaries




PBs & First Timers

The most PBs were at Waitangi (72), Hagley (47), Millwater (42), Cornwall (37) and Hobsonville Point (32).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Waitangi (72 or 30%), Ara Harakeke (28 or 24%), Foster (28 or 21%), Whanganui Riverbank (14 or 21%) and Whakatane Gardens (9 or 20%).

The most first timers were at Waitangi (113), Hagley (79), Cornwall (48), Queenstown (48) and Western Springs (47).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Lake2Lake Trail (16 or 48%), Waitangi (113 or 46%), Queenstown (48 or 42%), Broad Park (42 or 32%) and Western Springs (47 or 26%).

The fastest among us

The 19 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Pegasus in 17:33.
  2. Amelia Lythe (SW20-24) running Hobsonville Point in 18:33 for the first time.
  3. Nat Price (SW30-34) running Blenheim in 19:29 for the first time.
  4. Eleanor Bradbury (SW25-29) running Puarenga in 19:38 for the first time.
  5. Emma Bassett (VW40-44) running Waitangi in 20:07 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Becky Blay (SW18-19) running Pegasus in 20:33.
  7. Olivia Mcdowell (JW11-14) running Kapiti Coast in 20:36 setting herself a new PB.
  8. Gretchen Bourdillon (VW45-49) running Barry Curtis in 20:52.
  9. Helen Kilding (VW45-49) running Hobsonville Point in 20:52.
  10. Samantha Bradley (VW50-54) running Palmerston North in 21:17.
  11. Carolyn Marshall (VW55-59) running Kapiti Coast in 21:46.
  12. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 21:57.
  13. Nivy Moodley (VW60-64) running Cornwall in 22:24 for the first time.
  14. Kiana Wealleans (JW10) running Taupo in 22:41 for the first time.
  15. Alice Barnes (JW15-17) running Pegasus in 23:00.
  16. Carey Dickason (VW70-74) running Blenheim in 28:09.
  17. Diana Kittow (VW80-84) running Russell Park in 33:51.
  18. Liz Donoghue (VW75-79) running Whakatane Gardens in 38:34 setting herself a new PB.
  19. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 52:41.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Mark Boyce (VM35-39) running Millwater in 16:30.
  2. Troy Harold (VM50-54) running Millwater in 16:37 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Brent Kelly (VM40-44) running Millwater in 16:48 setting himself a new PB.
  4. Casey Thorby (SM18-19) running Taupo in 16:54.
  5. Steve Morrow (VM45-49) running Gisborne in 17:05.
  6. Graham Fisher (SM30-34) running Hamilton Lake in 17:10 setting himself a new PB.
  7. Josh Jordan (JM15-17) running Trentham Memorial in 17:18.
  8. Grant Mclean (VM55-59) running Lower Hutt in 17:28.
  9. Mitchell Carlyle (SM20-24) running Whangarei in 17:36 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Robert Humby (SM25-29) running Wanaka in 17:38 for the first time.
  11. Bair Waldrom (JM11-14) running Lower Hutt in 18:12 for the first time.
  12. Bruce Edwards (VM60-64) running Puarenga in 18:39.
  13. Tadhg Pierse (JM10) running Waitangi in 20:02 setting himself a new PB.
  14. Gregory Parker (VM65-69) running Gisborne in 20:55.
  15. David Reidie (VM70-74) running Hagley in 21:17.
  16. Ron Crowhurst (VM75-79) running Whangarei in 26:06.
  17. Mervyn Burt (VM80-84) running Pegasus in 31:04.
  18. Graham Richardson (VM85-89) running Cornwall in 44:56.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 54:58.

Record breakers

There were 22 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 Countrymen can be viewed here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *