parkrun NZ Stats 21/01/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for January 21, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 40 parkruns with 5454 (-158) parkrunners and 527 (-12) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

546 (-48) people got their parkrun barcode this week

402 (-92) ran their first parkrun this week

690 (-28) achieved personal bests this week

38 (-11) volunteered for the first time

35 (-9) new age category records were set.

10 (-1) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:21.

There was one new course record this week. Bella Earl ran 17:14 at Whangarei.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 51:12, 117.61% in the VM95-99 age group.


17 parkrunners joined the J10 club

39 parkrunners joined the 25 club

17 parkrunners joined the 50 club

8 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

  • Anderson: Mal Lochrie
  • Cornwall Park: Daryl Lewis and Glynis Hanrahan
  • Hagley: Birgit Steltner
  • Lower Hutt: Sarah Mcleod
  • Palmerston North: Daygan Eagar
  • Puarenga: Rebekah Shallard
  • Sherwood Reserve: Ann Fenner

4 parkrunners joined the 250 club:

  • Ara Harakeke: Robyn Sharma
  • Pegasus: Simon Hancock
  • Queenstown: Nigel Barratt
  • Whangarei: Andy Mears

3 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Neal Cleary, Janine Buckley and Dawn Spence.

Kim Hartley achieved her v50 at Invercargill, Darren Nesbit and Maria Easterbrook achieved their v50 at Whangarei.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Hamilton Lake (255), Cornwall Park (327), Hagley (486).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Lake2Lake Trail (41), Balclutha (25), Hamilton Park (21).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

11 parkruns had higher attendance

28 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Barry Curtis, with a change of 45.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Barry Curtis with a change of 30%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Tauranga with a change of -60.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Balclutha with a change of -31%.

Attendance Records

Two parkruns set new attendance records:

Ara Harakeke (146, up from 141)

Greytown Woodside Trail (106, up from 84)

NZ Anniversaries

Taupō (6)



PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (71), Ara Harakeke (39), Whangarei (39), Cornwall (35) and Broad Park (31).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Ara Harakeke (39 or 27%), Broad Park (31 or 23%), Foster (29 or 21%), Whangarei (39 or 18%) and Whanganui Riverbank (10 or 17%).

The most first timers were at Queenstown (76), Hagley (64), Cornwall (57), Western Springs (52) and Wanaka (45).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Queenstown (76 or 50%), Otaki River (21 or 47%), Wanaka (45 or 45%), Lake2Lake Trail (17 or 41%) and Whakatane Gardens (26 or 40%).

The fastest among us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Bella Earl (JW15-17) running Whangarei in 17:14 setting herself a new PB.
  2. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Pegasus in 17:15.
  3. Madison Wos (JW11-14) running Palmerston North in 18:59 setting herself a new PB.
  4. Sally Gibbs (VW55-59) running East End in 19:12 for the first time.
  5. Amy Frankland (SW25-29) running Wanaka in 19:39 for the first time.
  6. Caitlin Tolhurst (SW30-34) running Lower Hutt in 19:42 for the first time.
  7. Becky Blay (SW18-19) running Pegasus in 20:25 setting herself a new PB.
  8. Klaartje Van Schie (VW45-49) running Lake2Lake Trail in 20:43 setting herself a new PB.
  9. Lorna Pairman (SW20-24) running Broad Park in 21:09 setting herself a new PB.
  10. Cathy Kirkpatrick (VW40-44) running Millwater in 21:12.
  11. Michelle Van Looy (VW50-54) running Ara Harakeke in 21:16.
  12. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 21:48.
  13. Penelope Jane Barber (VW60-64) running Tauranga in 23:14.
  14. Kiana Wealleans (JW10) running Kapiti Coast in 25:24 for the first time.
  15. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 25:27.
  16. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 34:10.
  17. Julie Gilbert (VW75-79) running Palmerston North in 36:18.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 51:54.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Izak Bibile (JM15-17) running Puarenga in 15:56 for the first time.
  2. Sam Hopper (SM25-29) running Whanganui Riverbank in 16:00 for the first time.
  3. Thomas Strawbridge (SM20-24) running Trentham Memorial in 16:02.
  4. Mike Robinson (VM35-39) running Gisborne in 16:12.
  5. Daniel Du Toit (SM18-19) running Trentham Memorial in 16:39.
  6. Mathijs Casteele (SM30-34) running East End in 17:04 for the first time.
  7. Sam Walker (VM40-44) running Western Springs in 17:05 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Steve Morrow (VM45-49) running Gisborne in 17:18.
  9. Ryan Cunningham (JM11-14) running Queenstown in 17:23 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Troy Harold (VM50-54) running Whangarei in 17:30 setting himself a new PB.
  11. Matthew Norton Lynas (VM55-59) running Hagley in 18:44 for the first time.
  12. Ricky Gutsell (VM60-64) running Hamilton Park in 19:33.
  13. Ashton Harris (JM10) running Hagley in 20:45.
  14. Stephen Lindsay (VM65-69) running Anderson in 21:45.
  15. Eric Phimister (VM70-74) running Russell Park in 23:11 for the first time.
  16. Les Rootsey (VM75-79) running Foster in 24:45.
  17. Mike Stewart (VM80-84) running Lower Hutt in 27:42.
  18. Garry Humpherson (VM85-89) running Whakatane Gardens in 33:19 setting himself a new PB.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 51:12.

Record setters

There were 36 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 countrymen can be found here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for additional stats.

4 replies on “parkrun NZ Stats 21/01/2023”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *