parkrun NZ Stats 18/06/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for June 18, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 36 parkruns with 2864 (+452) parkrunners and 429 (+19) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

164 (-19) people got their parkrun barcode this week

121 (+9) ran their first parkrun this week

347 (+149) achieved personal bests this week

33 (-2) volunteered for the first time

15 (+3) new age category records were set

7 (+6) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:06.

There was one new course record this week: Krystyna Knight (18:56 at Owairaka).

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 52:50, 101.36% in the VM95-99 age group.


8 parkrunners joined the J10 club

15 parkrunners joined the 25 club

14 parkrunners joined the 50 club

8 parkrunners joined the 100 club – David Bond, Alistair Mcalevey, Jane Cloete, Emily Turner, Jay GregoryPaul Fitzmaurice, Brett Bailey and Cameron Crabb

2 parkrunners joined the 250 club – congratulations to Jason Buckley, Cerise Alderson.

4 parkrunners joined the V25 club – Richard Knott, Brian Salton, Paul Jaquin and Karen Andrews.

Jack McLean achieved his Jv10 milestone, Alan Milne achieved his v50 milestone.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Hamilton Lake (149), Cornwall Park (173), Hagley (289).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Wanaka (19), Hamilton Park (18), Balclutha (13).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

23 parkruns had higher attendance

12 parkruns had lower attendance

Queenstown parkrun had the same as last week, with 37.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Lower Hutt, with a change of 62.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Trentham Memorial with a change of 112%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Anderson and Millwater, each with a change of -12.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Wanaka with a change of -27%

NZ Anniversaries

Flaxmere (3)

Pegasus (6)


1 (Kapiti Coast parkrun: Council advise path unusable due to weather damage)

PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (39), Owairaka (22), Whangarei (22), Palmerston North (21) and Sherwood Reserve (16).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Otaki River (11 or 31%), Sherwood Reserve (16 or 25%), Owairaka (22 or 22%), Whangarei (22 or 21%) and Wanaka (4 or 21%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (27), Cornwall (22), Sherwood Reserve (21), Tauranga (18) and Owairaka (17).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Sherwood Reserve (21 or 32%), Queenstown (11 or 30%), Hamilton Park (5 or 28%), Western Springs (17 or 20%) and Taupo (10 or 20%).

Fastest Among Us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Tillie Hollyer (SW20-24) running Hagley in 17:43 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  2. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Foster in 17:46.
  3. Denika Clooney (JW11-14) running Whangarei in 18:47 setting herself a new PB.
  4. Sally Gibbs (VW55-59) running Whanganui Riverbank in 18:49.
  5. Krystyna Knight (SW25-29) running Owairaka in 18:56 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Kimberley Iversen (JW15-17) running Invercargill in 18:59.
  7. Nicola Corinne Handley (VW40-44) running Hagley in 19:53.
  8. Holly Harding (SW18-19) running Cornwall in 21:05.
  9. Stephanie Beech (SW30-34) running Hagley in 21:29 setting herself a new PB.
  10. Tui Summers (VW50-54) running Foster in 21:41.
  11. Joanne Wainwright (VW45-49) running Hobsonville Point in 21:57.
  12. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 22:03.
  13. Debbie Telfer (VW60-64) running Hagley in 22:38.
  14. Mae Stewart (JW10) running Lower Hutt in 24:32 setting herself a new PB.
  15. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 25:31.
  16. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 34:22.
  17. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 35:56 setting herself a new PB.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 50:13 setting herself a new PB for the first time.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Robert Van Deursen (SM20-24) running Barry Curtis in 16:20 setting himself a new PB.
  2. David Atkinson (VM35-39) running Owairaka in 16:36 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Steve Morrow (VM45-49) running Gisborne in 16:39.
  4. James Reid (SM25-29) running Hobsonville Point in 16:51 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  5. Ben Twyman (SM30-34) running Greytown Woodside Trail in 16:54.
  6. Daniel Du Toit (SM18-19) running Trentham Memorial in 17:05.
  7. Wade Maurice (VM40-44) running Millwater in 17:24 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Ben Watkins (JM15-17) running Whangarei in 18:28 setting himself a new PB.
  9. John Marshall (VM50-54) running Pegasus in 18:42.
  10. Ricky Gutsell (VM60-64) running Hamilton Park in 19:10.
  11. Ovin Angammana (JM10) running Porirua in 19:25.
  12. Warwick Smith (VM55-59) running Sherwood Reserve in 19:31 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  13. Archie Felton (JM11-14) running Millwater in 19:34.
  14. Gavin Stevens (VM65-69) running Cornwall in 21:10.
  15. John Kent (VM70-74) running Whangarei in 23:22.
  16. Ron Crowhurst (VM75-79) running Whangarei in 26:07.
  17. Mike Stewart (VM80-84) running Lower Hutt in 28:21.
  18. Barrie Gilbert (VM85-89) running Taupo in 39:57.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 52:50.

Record Breakers

There were 15 age category records broken this week:

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *