parkrun NZ Stats 11/06/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for June 11, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 35 parkruns with 2412 (-863) parkrunners and 410 (+10) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

183 (-37) people got their parkrun barcode this week

112 (-47) ran their first parkrun this week

198 (-222) achieved personal bests this week

35 (+7) volunteered for the first time

10 (-8) new age category records were set

1 (-6) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand increased by one second to 31:06.

There was one new course record this week: Amanda Waldron (19:50) at Russell Park).

The top age graded runner was Judith Stewart at Whangarei with a time of 26:20, 88.92% in the VW70-74 age group.


1 parkrunner joined the J10 club

18 parkrunners joined the 25 club

11 parkrunners joined the 50 club

9 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Caleb Arrowsmith, Terry Price, Ram Karki, Pauline Lane, Aaron Douglas, Matt Durney, David Wilmott, Natasha Mitchell, Gavin Craw, .

2 parkrunners joined the 250 club – congratulations to Big Dan Fidow, and Michael Wood

2 parkrunners joined the V25 club – Vanessa Pickering and Maria Easterbrook.

Judy Mellsop and Caleb Arrowsmith achieved their v50 milestone.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Dunedin (139), Cornwall Park (174), Hagley (284).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Hamilton Park (19), Ōtaki River (17), Balclutha (16).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

2 parkruns had higher attendance

33 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Cornwall Park, with a change of 16.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Whanganui Riverbank with a change of 13%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Hobsonville Point with a change of -79.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Ōtaki River with a change of -53%

NZ Anniversaries

Queenstown (4)


2 (Porirua parkrun: Fallen Tree Blocking the Course and Kapiti Coast parkrun: flooding on the course)

PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hobsonville Point (15), Cornwall (14), Hagley (13), Western Springs (13) and Millwater (12).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Otaki River (7 or 41%), Russell Park (10 or 29%), Hamilton Park (5 or 26%), Sherwood Reserve (9 or 20%) and Blenheim (5 or 17%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (34), Taupo (14), Sherwood Reserve (13), Western Springs (12) and Cornwall (11).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Taupo (14 or 29%), Sherwood Reserve (13 or 29%), East End (10 or 28%), Wanaka (7 or 27%) and Queenstown (9 or 24%).

Fastest Among Us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Pegasus in 17:46.
  2. Krystyna Knight (SW25-29) running Owairaka in 19:28 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Harriet Kingston (SW30-34) running Hagley in 19:39 setting herself a new PB.
  4. Lisa Brignull (VW45-49) running Hagley in 19:56.
  5. Mikki Williden (VW40-44) running Hobsonville Point in 20:40.
  6. Rosa Meyer (JW15-17) running Whanganui Riverbank in 20:51 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  7. Francesca Lee (SW20-24) running Taupo in 21:42 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  8. Emily Waters (SW18-19) running Dunedin in 22:13.
  9. Sunny Lu (VW50-54) running Millwater in 22:33.
  10. Zoe Broadhead (JW11-14) running Whanganui Riverbank in 22:41 setting herself a new PB.
  11. Noreen Crombie (VW55-59) running Puarenga in 23:32.
  12. Momoka Hudson (JW10) running Hagley in 24:57 setting herself a new PB.
  13. Eve Stanley (VW60-64) running Millwater in 25:18.
  14. Judith Stewart (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 26:20.
  15. Mignon Stevenson (VW65-69) running Whanganui Riverbank in 28:18.
  16. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 32:52.
  17. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 37:53.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 52:18.

The 18 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. James Reid (SM25-29) running Western Springs in 17:15.
  2. Adam Hazlett (VM45-49) running Tauranga in 17:15 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Reece Billington (VM35-39) running Tauranga in 17:16 setting himself a new PB.
  4. Daniel Coates (VM50-54) running Owairaka in 17:20.
  5. Benjamin Britton (SM20-24) running Queenstown in 17:30.
  6. Sam Rout (SM30-34) running Whangarei in 17:31.
  7. Charlie Hook (JM15-17) running Palmerston North in 17:50 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Mitchell Sincock (VM40-44) running Pegasus in 18:40 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  9. Bruce Edwards (VM60-64) running Anderson in 18:53 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  10. Cillian Carroll (JM11-14) running Palmerston North in 19:02.
  11. Cameron Bonar (SM18-19) running Hagley in 19:08 setting himself a new PB.
  12. Keith Wright (VM55-59) running Hagley in 19:31.
  13. Joseph Gilhooly (JM10) running Blenheim in 21:19 setting himself a new PB.
  14. Ian Ross (VM65-69) running Owairaka in 21:54.
  15. Paul Berry (VM70-74) running Cornwall in 24:12.
  16. Blake Wilkins (VM75-79) running Puarenga in 27:46.
  17. John Gordon (VM80-84) running Hagley in 35:35.
  18. Neil Holland (VM85-89) running Puarenga in 53:49.

Record Breakers

There were 10 age category records broken this week:

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *