parkrun NZ stats 14/08/2021

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for August 14, 2021

In New Zealand there were 34 parkruns, with 3432 (+284) parkrunners and 404 (-4) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

217 (+6) people got their parkrun barcode this week

149 (+31) ran their first parkrun this week

388 (+70) achieved personal bests this week

38 (+4) volunteered for the first time

19 (+5) new age category records were set

9 (+3) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average run time in New Zealand remains 31:00.

There were three new course records this week. Daniel Prescott (16:45 at Foster), Hannah Gapes (17:07 at Puarenga) and Ben Bidois (16:00 at University of Waikato).

The top age graded runner was Sally Gibbs at Tauranga with a time of 19:12, 96.88% in the VW55-59 age group.


18 parkrunners joined the 50 club

7 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Avril Thornton, Annie Rankin, James Gildea, Mark Ridge, Neil Aldridge, Steve Allen and Yvette Bowers.

1 parkrunner joined the 250 club – Congratulations to Deborah Blythen (Lower Hutt).

8 parkrunners achieved their V25 milestone – Andrew Morgan, Mana Wharepouri, Francis McCormick, Brodie Banks, Mark Douglas, Anna Arrol, Deonne Taylor and Alec McNab.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Millwater (194), Cornwall Park (234), Hagley (311).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Wanaka (29), Balclutha (29), Whanganui Riverbank (27).

There were no new attendance records.

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

23 parkruns had higher attendance

10 parkruns had lower attendance than last week

Greytown Woodside Trail parkrun recorded the same attendance with 50.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Millwater, with a change of 74.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Cambridge NZ with a change of 66%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Sherwood Reserve with a change of -25.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Gisborne with a change of -27%.

NZ Anniversaries




Personal Bests

The most PBs were at Cornwall (29), Hagley (27), Sherwood Reserve (25), Tauranga (24) and Hamilton Lake (22).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Sherwood Reserve (25 or 37%), Trentham Memorial (16 or 22%), University of Waikato (11 or 21%), Tauranga (24 or 17%) and Western Springs (14 or 15%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Gapes (JW15-17) running Puarenga in 17:07 setting herself a new PB.
  2. Hannah Oldroyd (SW30-34) running Hagley in 17:40.
  3. Charli Miller (SW18-19) running University of Waikato in 17:51 setting herself a new PB.
  4. Sally Gibbs (VW55-59) running Tauranga in 19:12.
  5. Miranda Spencer (SW25-29) running Lower Hutt in 19:12.
  6. Hayley Cornwall (JW11-14) running Palmerston North in 19:56.
  7. Lorna Pairman (SW20-24) running Hagley in 19:57.
  8. Rebecca Sheffield (VW35-39) running Queenstown in 19:57.
  9. Gretchen Bourdillon (VW40-44) running Barry Curtis in 20:39.
  10. Siobhan Griffiths (VW45-49) running Puarenga in 21:35.
  11. Jacqueline Kemp (VW50-54) running Owairaka in 22:04 setting herself a new PB.
  12. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 22:19.
  13. Christine Fraser (VW60-64) running Whangarei in 23:30.
  14. Eva Scott (JW10) running Millwater in 24:31 setting herself a new PB.
  15. Jennifer Smith (VW70-74) running Millwater in 25:50.
  16. Anna Reid (VW75-79) running Hagley in 33:20.
  17. Pam Hilton (VW80-84) running Hamilton Lake in 45:58.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Cameron Clark (SM18-19) running Hagley in 15:30 setting himself a new PB.
  2. Harvey Williams (JM15-17) running Hamilton Lake in 16:43.
  3. James Ansell (VM35-39) running Hagley in 16:54.
  4. Sam Rout (SM30-34) running Whangarei in 16:59.
  5. Nathan Jones (VM40-44) running Pegasus in 17:10.
  6. Alex Witt (SM20-24) running Pegasus in 17:10.
  7. John Newsom (VM45-49) running Hagley in 17:30.
  8. Duncan Morrison (SM25-29) running Hobsonville Point in 17:33 setting himself a new PB.
  9. Timothy Wallace (JM11-14) running Barry Curtis in 18:27 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Grant Lincoln (VM50-54) running Hobsonville Point in 18:35.
  11. Peter Richards (VM60-64) running Foster in 18:48.
  12. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Puarenga in 19:16 setting himself a new PB.
  13. Gavin Stevens (VM65-69) running Cornwall in 20:22.
  14. Seb Penney (JM10) running Lower Hutt in 21:47 for the first time.
  15. John Kent (VM70-74) running Whangarei in 23:18.
  16. Rod Gill (VM75-79) running Cambridge NZ in 28:45 setting himself a new PB.
  17. Graham Wood (VM80-84) running Pegasus in 31:40.
  18. Ray Turner (VM85-89) running Cornwall in 39:00.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 01:01:33.
New age category records

Kudos to the vollies

A shout out to our top 100 statespeople who chose to volunteer this weekend: Martin at Palmerston North , Nneka at Flaxmere , Andrew and Scott at Sherwood Reserve , Sarah and Allan at Trentham Memorial , Grant and Brian at Barry Curtis , Dan at Gisborne , Robyn at Owairaka , Laurie at Millwater , Simon at Hamilton Lake , Michael at Western Springs , and Randall at Porirua

Top 100 countrymen is based on the most events table, which shows parkrunners who have run at 15 or most New Zealand events. There’s no other volunteer data currently available other than what is in these stats.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *