parkrun NZ Stats 09/04/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for April 9, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 36 parkruns (up 4 on last week), with 3429 (+782) parkrunners and 399 (+42) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

291 (+82) people got their parkrun barcode this week

252 (+117) ran their first parkrun this week

416 (+88) achieved personal bests this week

40 (+14) volunteered for the first time

50 (+33) new age category records were set (26 at Russell Park)

15 (-1) runners recorded sub-17 finishes (nine at Hagley)

The average run time in New Zealand increased by one second to 31:04.

There were three new course records this week: Kimberley Iversen (18:28 at Invercargill), plus Mark Bouwman (19:26) and Nikita Wain (22:27) set the course records for Russell Park.

The top age graded runner was Sally Gibbs at Whanganui Riverbank with a time of 18:34, 100.18% in the VW55-59 age group.


9 parkrunners joined the J10 club

24 parkrunners joined the 25 club

18 parkrunners joined the 50 club

8 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Barbara Edmead, Faye Northe, Ellie Wichman, Jo Cosseboom, Craig Fay, Peter Trebilcock, David Durnin, and Cindy Scholtz,

1 parkrunner joined the 250 club – congratulations to Dawn Cleary

4 parkrunners joined the V25 club – Louise Shave, Sharron Drinnan, Erin McKerrow and Darren Nisbet.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Lower Hutt (191), Cornwall Park (192), Hagley (320).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Flaxmere (21), Ōtaki River (21), Balclutha (17).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

22 parkruns had higher attendance

9 parkruns had lower attendance

Cornwall Park recorded the same attendance as last week with 192.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Palmerston North, with a change of 77.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Barry Curtis with a change of 69%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was University of Waikato with a change of -23.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Balclutha with a change of -48%.

Russell Park parkrun set its attendance record at 95.

NZ Anniversaries



Sherwood Reserve (alternate course being approved)

Personal Bests and first timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (54), Lower Hutt (25), Palmerston North (23), Invercargill (22) and Cornwall (19).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Otaki River (7 or 33%), Trentham Memorial (16 or 29%), Hamilton Park (11 or 28%), Invercargill (22 or 24%) and Cambridge NZ (11 or 21%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (40), Barry Curtis (24), Dunedin (22), Invercargill (18) and Lower Hutt (18).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Otaki River (7 or 33%), University of Waikato (9 or 33%), Hamilton Park (11 or 28%), Invercargill (18 or 19%) and Queenstown (10 or 19%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Kimberley Iversen (JW15-17) running Invercargill in 18:28 setting herself a new PB.
  2. Sally Gibbs (VW55-59) running Whanganui Riverbank in 18:34.
  3. Fleur Pawsey (VW40-44) running Hagley in 19:30.
  4. Nicole Cameron (SW20-24) running Hagley in 19:41 setting herself a new PB.
  5. Siena Mackley (JW11-14) running Queenstown in 19:54.
  6. Katie Mcverry (SW30-34) running Hagley in 19:57 setting herself a new PB.
  7. Karis Rae (VW45-49) running Taupo in 20:41 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  8. Kristy Eyles (VW35-39) running Dunedin in 20:47.
  9. Narelle Denmead (SW25-29) running Hagley in 20:49.
  10. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 21:29.
  11. Nicola Whalley (VW50-54) running Pegasus in 21:39.
  12. Becky De La Harpe (SW18-19) running Dunedin in 22:00.
  13. Iida Amaya (JW10) running Kapiti Coast in 24:09 setting herself a new PB.
  14. Dianne Davis (VW60-64) running Foster in 24:31.
  15. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 26:18.
  16. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 36:01 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  17. Pam Hilton (VW80-84) running Hamilton Lake in 50:02.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Harry Rattray (SM20-24) running Hagley in 15:55 setting himself a new PB.
  2. Darian Sorouri (SM25-29) running Anderson in 15:57 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Liam Odonnell (JM15-17) running Hagley in 16:08 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  4. Daniel Du Toit (SM18-19) running Trentham Memorial in 16:12 setting himself a new PB.
  5. Craig Iversen (VM45-49) running Invercargill in 16:22 setting himself a new PB.
  6. Anthony Jackson (VM35-39) running Flaxmere in 17:07.
  7. Craig Mcconnochie (SM30-34) running Hagley in 17:09 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Caleb Wagener (JM11-14) running Barry Curtis in 17:09 setting himself a new PB.
  9. Max Aldridge (JM11-14) running Hagley in 17:09 setting himself a new PB.
  10. David Brown (VM40-44) running Barry Curtis in 17:39.
  11. Troy Harold (VM50-54) running Millwater in 17:40.
  12. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Puarenga in 18:08 setting himself a new PB.
  13. John Durand (VM60-64) running Pegasus in 19:25.
  14. Ian Ross (VM65-69) running Barry Curtis in 21:11.
  15. Peter Taylor (JM10) running Hobsonville Point in 21:14 setting himself a new PB.
  16. John Kent (VM70-74) running Whangarei in 23:05.
  17. Ron Crowhurst (VM75-79) running Whangarei in 26:59.
  18. Terence Thompson (VM80-84) running Western Springs in 32:33.
  19. Barrie Gilbert (VM85-89) running Taupo in 43:03.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

2 replies on “parkrun NZ Stats 09/04/2022”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *