parkrun NZ Stats 20/08/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for August 20, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 33 parkruns with 2766 (-429) parkrunners and 392 (-54) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

216 (-44) people got their parkrun barcode this week

127 (-77) ran their first parkrun this week

249 (-96) achieved personal bests this week

28 (+7) volunteered for the first time

11 (+2) new age category records were set

3 (-5) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand increased to 31:09.

There were no new course records this week.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Owairaka with a time of 50:24, 106.25% in the VM95-99 age group.


9 parkrunners joined the J10 club

13 parkrunners joined the 25 club

16 parkrunners joined the 50 club

2 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

Congratulations to the 1 parkrunner who joined the 250 club:

5 parkrunners joined the V25 club – Raewyn Hunt, Lloyd Millar, Myles Dyeming, Kathy Voss and Sian Johnson.

Lauren Scarth achieved her v50 milestone at Balclutha.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Hamilton Lake (159), Hobsonville Point (171), Hagley (289).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Ōtaki River, Hamilton Park, Balclutha (all on 26), Russell Park, Whanganui Riverbank (22).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

12 parkruns had higher attendance

20 parkruns had lower attendance

University of Waikato recorded the same attendance as the week prior.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Pegasus, with a change of 26.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Balclutha with a change of 136%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Lower Hutt with a change of -75.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Puarenga with a change of -62.5%

NZ Anniversaries




Blenheim (Heavy overnight rain added to existing conditions)

East End (course unsafe, Te Rewa Rewa bridge closed)

Kapiti Coast (Flooding, Waikanae River has overtopped the course)

Porirua (car park flooded)

PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Invercargill (20), Whangarei (20), Hagley (17), Hamilton Lake (16) and Cornwall (15).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Sherwood Reserve (12 or 24%), Russell Park (5 or 23%), Invercargill (20 or 21%), Queenstown (11 or 17%) and Hamilton Park (4 or 15%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (33), Owairaka (24), Queenstown (24), Tauranga (15) and Dunedin (14).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Hamilton Park (11 or 42%), Queenstown (24 or 37%), Wanaka (12 or 26%), Owairaka (24 or 20%) and Taupo (10 or 19%).

Fastest Among Us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Rebecca Ward (VW50-54) running Hobsonville Point in 18:13 setting herself a new PB.
  2. Kimberley Iversen (JW15-17) running Invercargill in 19:27.
  3. Karen Donaldson-barron (VW40-44) running Hobsonville Point in 19:40.
  4. Naomi Mcgarva (SW30-34) running Hobsonville Point in 20:18.
  5. Isabella Pickering (JW11-14) running Millwater in 21:12.
  6. Sophie Pitt (SW25-29) running Pegasus in 21:17 for the first time.
  7. Renee Biggs (SW18-19) running Palmerston North in 21:31 for the first time.
  8. Faye Mcilroy (VW45-49) running Millwater in 21:54.
  9. Dawn Tuffery (VW35-39) running Hamilton Lake in 22:11.
  10. Christine Adamson (VW65-69) running Owairaka in 22:23.
  11. Suzanne Mackie (VW55-59) running Hagley in 23:26.
  12. Charlotte Nankivell (SW20-24) running Cornwall in 23:27.
  13. Christine Fraser (VW60-64) running Whangarei in 24:19.
  14. Cassidy Bishop (JW10) running Tauranga in 26:06 setting herself a new PB.
  15. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 26:42.
  16. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 33:44.
  17. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 39:28.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 50:11.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Logan Griffin (SM25-29) running Hobsonville Point in 16:35 for the first time.
  2. Craig Iversen (VM45-49) running Invercargill in 16:46.
  3. Luke Mitchell (SM20-24) running Hagley in 17:21.
  4. Zebedee Stone (VM35-39) running Hobsonville Point in 17:33 for the first time.
  5. Adam Clayton (SM30-34) running Hamilton Park in 17:35.
  6. Andrew Pennefather (VM50-54) running Palmerston North in 17:55.
  7. Ian Bower (VM40-44) running Western Springs in 18:06 for the first time.
  8. Jesse Park (JM15-17) running Cornwall in 18:51.
  9. Giles Witt (SM18-19) running Dunedin in 19:12 for the first time.
  10. Mike Trees (VM55-59) running Hobsonville Point in 19:20 setting himself a new PB.
  11. Rhys Jones (JM11-14) running Whangarei in 19:22 setting himself a new PB.
  12. John Wallace (VM60-64) running Invercargill in 19:59.
  13. Noah Jones (JM10) running Whangarei in 21:07 setting himself a new PB.
  14. Ian Ross (VM65-69) running Barry Curtis in 22:43.
  15. Paul Berry (VM70-74) running Cornwall in 24:05.
  16. Fred Smith (VM80-84) running Millwater in 29:36.
  17. Alan Ryan (VM75-79) running Puarenga in 30:18.
  18. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Owairaka in 50:24 for the first time.
  19. Geoff Foreman (VM85-89) running Gisborne in 51:07.

Record Breakers

There were 9 age category records broken this week:

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *