parkrun NZ Stats 18/03/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for March 18, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 39 parkruns with 4600 (-700) parkrunners and 520 (-8) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

367 (-67) people got their parkrun barcode this week

239 (-111) ran their first parkrun this week

632 (-208) achieved personal bests this week

37 (-8) volunteered for the first time

16 (-6) new age category records were set.

6 (-) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:26.

There were no new course records this week.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 56:38, 106.33% in the VM95-99 age group.


15 parkrunners joined the J10 club

33 parkrunners joined the 25 club

20 parkrunners joined the 50 club

11 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

  • Ara Harakeke: Maia Holden
  • Flaxmere: Julie Williams
  • Foster: Dean Hamilton
  • Hagley: Sabine Schweitzer
  • Lower Hutt: Moira Ledinghsm
  • Owairaka: Ants Cotton, Kelvin King
  • Palmerston North: Eion Hewson
  • Tauranga: Murray Landon, Mike Bricknell, Lisa Bricknell

4 parkrunners joined the 250 club

  • Barry Curtis: Chris Whiteley, Paul Van Deursen
  • Dunedin: Nick Wooliscroft, Keith Weatherston

5 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Cheryl Hill, Niska Steele, Mackenzie Henry, Mercedes Glover and Rebecca O’Sullivan.

Sarah Dymock achieved her v100 at Gisborne.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Lower Hutt (228), Cornwall Park (292), Hagley (442).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Balclutha (27), Ōtaki River (27), Hamilton Park (22).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

13 parkruns had higher attendance

26 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Owairaka, with a change of 49.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Hamilton Park with a change of 69%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Hamilton Lake with a change of -126.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Sherwood Reserve with a change of -55%.

Attendance Records


NZ Anniversaries



Western Springs parkrun: Pacifica festival using the park.

PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (58), Cornwall (41), Millwater (35), Ara Harakeke (28) and Hamilton Lake (28).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Lake2Lake Trail (9 or 28%), Broad Park (23 or 26%), Wanaka (16 or 25%), Sherwood Reserve (12 or 23%) and Trentham Memorial (17 or 22%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (71), Cornwall (65), Queenstown (58), Owairaka (52) and East End (36).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Queenstown (58 or 51%), Greytown Woodside Trail (13 or 30%), Russell Park (11 or 28%), Lake2Lake Trail (9 or 28%) and University of Waikato (30 or 28%).

The Fastest Among Us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Pegasus in 17:13.
  2. Lucy Oliver (SW30-34) running Whanganui Riverbank in 17:51 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Berber Swart (SW25-29) running Invercargill in 18:34 for the first time.
  4. Anna Bramley (VW40-44) running Owairaka in 18:39 for the first time.
  5. Sally Gibbs (VW55-59) running Hamilton Lake in 18:54.
  6. Liberty Mcintyre-reet (SW20-24) running Hagley in 19:57.
  7. Becky Blay (SW18-19) running Pegasus in 20:26.
  8. Angela Hawkes (VW45-49) running Owairaka in 20:57.
  9. Ava Gatie (JW15-17) running Cornwall in 21:07 setting herself a new PB.
  10. Niamh Hoare (JW11-14) running Cornwall in 21:30 setting herself a new PB.
  11. Michelle Van Looy (VW50-54) running Lower Hutt in 21:36 setting herself a new PB.
  12. Marcia Hunter (VW60-64) running Greytown Woodside Trail in 23:37.
  13. Gail Kirkman (VW70-74) running Lake2Lake Trail in 25:36.
  14. Jackie Grant (VW65-69) running Whangarei in 25:41.
  15. Amokura Olsen (JW10) running Ara Harakeke in 25:55 setting herself a new PB.
  16. Pauline Lane (VW75-79) running Hagley in 40:23.
  17. Diana Kittow (VW80-84) running Russell Park in 45:52.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 51:00.

The 22 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Simon Heath (VM35-39) running Hagley in 16:34 for the first time.
  2. Benjamin Anderson (SM30-34) running Owairaka in 16:40 for the first time.
  3. Matthew Verran (SM20-24) running Lower Hutt in 16:44 for the first time.
  4. Dwight Grieve (VM45-49) running Hamilton Park in 16:47 for the first time.
  5. Hassan Mccall (JM15-17) running Trentham Memorial in 17:05.
  6. Ollie Brazier (SM25-29) running Taupo in 17:23 setting himself a new PB.
  7. Daniel Coates (VM50-54) running Owairaka in 17:39.
  8. Michael Peck (VM55-59) running Hamilton Lake in 17:51 setting himself a new PB.
  9. Andrew Crosland (VM40-44) running Lower Hutt in 17:52.
  10. Nic Ratcliffe (JM11-14) running Anderson in 17:58.
  11. Mike Trees (VM60-64) running Hobsonville Point in 18:38.
  12. Luke Mcconnell (SM18-19) running Hagley in 18:40 for the first time.
  13. Tadhg Pierse (JM10) running Lower Hutt in 20:49 setting himself a new PB.
  14. George Fisher (JM10) running Taupo in 20:49 setting himself a new PB.
  15. David Reidie (VM70-74) running Hagley in 21:10 setting himself a new PB.
  16. Michael Pearce (VM65-69) running Kapiti Coast in 21:28.
  17. Steve Fairley (VM65-69) running Whangarei in 21:28.
  18. Graham Mitchell (VM75-79) running Hagley in 26:51 for the first time.
  19. Mike Stewart (VM80-84) running Lower Hutt in 28:27.
  20. Garry Humpherson (VM85-89) running Whakatane Gardens in 34:43.
  21. Mike Batchelor (SM—) running Whangarei in 38:00.
  22. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 56:38.

Record breakers

There were 14 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 Countrymen can be viewed here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *