parkrun NZ Stats 17/09/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for September 17, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 38 parkruns with 3966 (+397) parkrunners and 470 (+30) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

375 (+47) people got their parkrun barcode this week

285 (+58) ran their first parkrun this week

563 (+14) achieved personal bests this week

34 (-4) volunteered for the first time

36 (-1) new age category records were set

13 (+5) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand increased to 31:11.

There was one new course record this week. Chris Lines ran 16:57 at Whakatāne Gardens.

The top age graded runner was Sally Gibbs at Tauranga with a time of 18:39, 101.16% in the VW55-59 age group.


9 parkrunners joined the J10 club

22 parkrunners joined the 25 club

15 parkrunners joined the 50 club

12 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

4 parkrunners joined the 250 club. Congratulations to:

7 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Ava Register, Kate Wanden, Alexandra Henry, Kirk Olsson, Jeanne Hyde, Florrie Kerr and Marty Lemberg.

Francis McCormick achieved their v50 milestone at Owairaka.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Dunedin (197), Lower Hutt (202), Hagley (357).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Russell Park (29), Ōtaki River (28), Balclutha (26).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

25 parkruns had higher attendance

11 parkruns had lower attendance

Pegasus and Russell Park recorded the same attendance as the week prior.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Tauranga, with a change of 109.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Tauranga with a change of 247%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Hobsonville Point with a change of -47.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Hobsonville Point with a change of -25%.

NZ Anniversaries

Millwater (8)


Puarenga (Rotorua Marathon using course)

PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (60), Cornwall (36), Whangarei (28), Whakatane Gardens (27) and Anderson (26).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Whakatane Gardens (27 or 31%), Hamilton Park (13 or 30%), Lake2Lake Trail (19 or 28%), Sherwood Reserve (15 or 26%) and Anderson (26 or 24%).

The most first timers were at Whakatane Gardens (47), Hagley (44), Tauranga (43), Western Springs (32) and Queenstown (29).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Whakatane Gardens (47 or 54%), Queenstown (29 or 39%), Lake2Lake Trail (21 or 31%), Hamilton Park (13 or 30%) and Tauranga (43 or 28%).

Fastest Among Us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Sally Gibbs (VW55-59) running Tauranga in 18:39.
  2. Ava Sutherland (JW15-17) running Porirua in 18:44 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Megan Foster (SW18-19) running Hagley in 18:56 setting herself a new PB.
  4. Eleanor Pugh (JW11-14) running Tauranga in 19:08.
  5. Helen Gray (SW30-34) running Barry Curtis in 19:40.
  6. Rosie Hay (VW35-39) running Palmerston North in 19:40.
  7. Katherine Fry (SW20-24) running Cornwall in 19:42 for the first time.
  8. Fleur Pawsey (VW40-44) running Hagley in 19:54.
  9. Eva Wilkins (JW10) running Cornwall in 20:49 setting herself a new PB.
  10. Helen Kilding (VW45-49) running Sherwood Reserve in 20:54 for the first time.
  11. Anna Hickey (SW25-29) running Western Springs in 21:04.
  12. Kristine Reid (VW50-54) running Tauranga in 21:17 for the first time.
  13. Nuala Dunne (VW60-64) running Palmerston North in 23:34 setting herself a new PB.
  14. Elizabeth Dainty (VW65-69) running Porirua in 27:40.
  15. Carey Dickason (VW70-74) running Blenheim in 27:58.
  16. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 31:26.
  17. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 36:03.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 51:20.

The 20 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Jack Staples (SM20-24) running Hagley in 15:17 for the first time.
  2. George Wyllie (JM15-17) running Tauranga in 15:57 setting himself a new PB.
  3. James Reid (SM25-29) running Hobsonville Point in 16:33 setting himself a new PB.
  4. Caleb Wagener (JM11-14) running Barry Curtis in 16:41 setting himself a new PB.
  5. Cullern Thorby (SM18-19) running Taupo in 16:52 setting himself a new PB.
  6. James Conwell (VM40-44) running Palmerston North in 16:55 setting himself a new PB.
  7. Dwight Grieve (VM45-49) running Lake2Lake Trail in 16:58 for the first time.
  8. Grant Mclean (VM50-54) running Lower Hutt in 17:03.
  9. Scott Fletcher (VM35-39) running Hagley in 17:04 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Oliver Norman (SM30-34) running Owairaka in 17:27.
  11. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Whakatane Gardens in 19:05 setting himself a new PB.
  12. Stephen Mair (VM60-64) running Trentham Memorial in 20:15.
  13. Mahe Braaksma (JM10) running Lake2Lake Trail in 21:29 for the first time.
  14. Trevor Ashe (VM65-69) running Tauranga in 21:55 setting himself a new PB.
  15. Paul Berry (VM70-74) running Cornwall in 23:01.
  16. John Billing (VM75-79) running East End in 25:31.
  17. Mike Stewart (VM80-84) running Lower Hutt in 26:59.
  18. Garth Barfoot (VM85-89) running Sherwood Reserve in 42:48 setting himself a new PB.
  19. Mike Batchelor (SM—) running Whangarei in 49:23.
  20. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 58:20.

Record Breakers

There were 36 age category records broken this week:

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *