parkrun NZ Stats 13/05/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for May 13, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 41 parkruns with 4484 (-85) parkrunners and 562 (+26) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

400 (-17) people got their parkrun barcode this week

290 (+14) ran their first parkrun this week

751 (+195) achieved personal bests this week

21 (+4) new age category records were set

9 (-4) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:30.

There were no new course records this week.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 55:51, 107.82% in the VM95-99 age group.


30 parkrunners joined the 50 club

4 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

3 parkrunners joined the 250 club

6 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Nancy Dimmock, Kylie Tecofsky, Melanie Macgowan, Kokoro Imazu, Lucas McDonald and Julie Freeman.

Paul Jaquin achieved his v50 at Queenstown.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Millwater (228), Cornwall Park (279), Hagley (478).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Russell Park (32), Hamilton Park (20), Balclutha (19).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

19 parkruns had higher attendance

21 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Waitangi, with a change of 80.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Greytown Woodside Trail with a change of 81%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Owairaka with a change of -40.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Balclutha with a change of -64%.

Attendance Records


NZ Anniversaries




PBs & First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (84), Waitangi (58), Western Springs (35), Millwater (34) and Owairaka (33).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Waitangi (58 or 30%), Cambridge NZ (16 or 30%), Western Springs (35 or 26%), Trentham Memorial (20 or 25%) and Hamilton Park (5 or 25%).

The most first timers were at Waitangi (68), Hagley (38), Queenstown (36), Hobsonville Point (30) and Cornwall (28).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Lake2Lake Trail (18 or 36%), Queenstown (36 or 36%), Waitangi (68 or 36%), Wanaka (17 or 28%) and Russell Park (8 or 25%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Pegasus in 17:49.
  2. Katy Dawson (VW45-49) running Hamilton Lake in 19:31.
  3. Sophie Dean (SW25-29) running Hagley in 20:01.
  4. Darshna Govind (SW30-34) running Waitangi in 20:29.
  5. Lily James (JW15-17) running Hamilton Lake in 20:49.
  6. Lani Dodds (VW40-44) running Western Springs in 20:58 setting herself a new PB.
  7. Isabella Pickering (JW11-14) running Millwater in 21:15.
  8. Cara Gallagher (SW20-24) running Owairaka in 21:23 setting herself a new PB.
  9. Hayley Bond (SW18-19) running Hagley in 21:25.
  10. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 22:07.
  11. Melissa Bray (VW50-54) running Owairaka in 22:35 for the first time.
  12. Andrea Barnes (VW55-59) running Millwater in 23:15 setting herself a new PB.
  13. Maureen Leonard (VW60-64) running Hamilton Lake in 23:40 setting herself a new PB.
  14. Tayla Bailey (JW10) running Queenstown in 26:33.
  15. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 26:44.
  16. Diana Kittow (VW80-84) running Russell Park in 32:11.
  17. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 38:59.

The 20 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Corban Straker (SM20-24) running Hagley in 15:32.
  2. Sam Rout (SM30-34) running Whangarei in 16:15 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Dwayne Collecutt (VM35-39) running Whangarei in 16:21 setting himself a new PB.
  4. Lorcan Rabbitte (SM18-19) running Waitangi in 16:35 for the first time.
  5. Ruan Meintjies (SM25-29) running Owairaka in 16:44 for the first time.
  6. Jacob Kilmister (JM15-17) running Ara Harakeke in 17:04 setting himself a new PB.
  7. Aj Cornwall (VM45-49) running Palmerston North in 17:04.
  8. Andrew Crosland (VM40-44) running Lower Hutt in 17:14.
  9. Grant Mclean (VM55-59) running Lower Hutt in 17:34.
  10. Andrew Pennefather (VM50-54) running Palmerston North in 17:49.
  11. Jack Gregory (JM11-14) running Kapiti Coast in 18:16 setting himself a new PB.
  12. Bruce Edwards (VM60-64) running Puarenga in 19:08.
  13. George Fisher (JM10) running Taupo in 20:49.
  14. Bill Revell (VM65-69) running Whanganui Riverbank in 21:59 for the first time.
  15. Eric Phimister (VM70-74) running Ara Harakeke in 22:24 setting himself a new PB.
  16. Ron Crowhurst (VM75-79) running Whangarei in 24:28.
  17. Mike Stewart (VM80-84) running Lower Hutt in 28:26.
  18. Garry Humpherson (VM85-89) running Whakatane Gardens in 36:12.
  19. Mike Batchelor (SM—) running Whangarei in 40:48.
  20. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 55:51.

Record breakers

There were 18 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 Countrymen can be viewed here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *