parkrun NZ Stats 12/03/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for March 12, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 14 parkruns, with 678 (-9) parkrunners and 122 (-8) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

92 (+17) people got their parkrun barcode this week

56 (+7) ran their first parkrun this week

98 (-21) achieved personal bests this week

4 (-8) volunteered for the first time

11 (-11) new age category records were set

1 (-4) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average run time in New Zealand remains at 31:03.

There was one new course record this week: Jack Moody (15:07 at Taupō).

The top age graded runner was Jack Moody at Taupō with a time of 15:07, 85.34% in the SM25-29 age group.


2 parkrunners joined the J10 club

4 parkrunners joined the 25 club

4 parkrunners joined the 50 club

5 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Kim Gourlay, Maggie Jones, Ron Walraven, Caroline Holland and Glenys Martin.

0 parkrunners joined the 250 club

0 parkrunners joined the V25 club


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: East End (64), Puarenga (65), Kapiti Coast (73).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Queenstown (34), Flaxmere (34), Balclutha (27).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

5 parkruns had higher attendance

8 parkruns had lower attendance

Whanganui Riverbank had the same attendance as last week with 43.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Ōtaki River, with a change of 27.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Ōtaki River with a change of 88%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Hamilton Park with a change of -18.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Hamilton Park with a change of -28%.

There were no new attendance records.

NZ Anniversaries



Anderson, Barry Curtis, Cambridge NZ, Cornwall, Dunedin, Foster, Hagley, Hamilton Lake, Hobsonville Point, Invercargill, Lower Hutt, Millwater, Owairaka, Palmerston North, Pegasus, Porirua, Sherwood Reserve, Tauranga, Trentham Memorial, University of Waikato, Western Springs and Whangarei.

Personal Bests and first timers

The most PBs were at Hamilton Park (20), Wanaka (16), Whanganui Riverbank (13), Otaki River (10) and Greytown Woodside Trail (9).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Wanaka (16 or 36%), Otaki River (10 or 32%), Hamilton Park (20 or 31%), Whanganui Riverbank (13 or 30%) and Taupo (9 or 17%).

The most first timers were at Hamilton Park (33), Otaki River (10), Taupo (8), Flaxmere (7) and Wanaka (7).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Hamilton Park (33 or 52%), Otaki River (10 or 32%), Flaxmere (7 or 16%), Wanaka (7 or 16%) and Taupo (8 or 15%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Lucy Carson (SW25-29) running Taupo in 20:56 for the first time.
  2. Lucy Lawlor (SW30-34) running Kapiti Coast in 21:11.
  3. Noreen Crombie (VW55-59) running Puarenga in 22:06.
  4. Tahlia Hopkins (SW20-24) running Flaxmere in 22:37.
  5. Emily Every (VW40-44) running Taupo in 23:17 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Erin Wheeler (VW35-39) running Whanganui Riverbank in 23:29 setting herself a new PB.
  7. Fiona Reid (VW50-54) running Puarenga in 24:12 for the first time.
  8. Marcia Hunter (VW60-64) running Greytown Woodside Trail in 24:43.
  9. Sarah Lei (VW45-49) running Puarenga in 24:54.
  10. Paige Horne (JW11-14) running Blenheim in 25:01.
  11. Anja Crombie (JW15-17) running Puarenga in 25:17.
  12. Lily Gemmill (JW10) running Hamilton Park in 26:03 setting herself a new PB.
  13. Mignon Stevenson (VW65-69) running Whanganui Riverbank in 27:45.
  14. Carey Dickason (VW70-74) running Blenheim in 27:58.
  15. Noeline Munro (VW75-79) running Wanaka in 40:59.
  16. Isabel Hutcheon (VW80-84) running Taupo in 53:40.
  17. Te Ihorangi Arahanga-ruri (SW18-19) running Otaki River in 01:05:08 for the first time.

The 18 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Jack Moody (SM25-29) running Taupo in 15:07 for the first time.
  2. Callum Hawkins (JM15-17) running Gisborne in 17:50.
  3. William Twiss (VM50-54) running Whanganui Riverbank in 18:39 for the first time.
  4. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Puarenga in 18:39 setting himself a new PB.
  5. Theodore Eyster (SM30-34) running Wanaka in 18:44.
  6. Karl Kalders (VM40-44) running Otaki River in 18:52 for the first time.
  7. Jason Wain (SM18-19) running Flaxmere in 18:58 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Sean Kelly (VM45-49) running East End in 19:19 for the first time.
  9. Peter Richards (VM60-64) running Wanaka in 19:25.
  10. Andrew Darney (VM35-39) running Taupo in 20:22.
  11. Oscar Goodwin (JM11-14) running Kapiti Coast in 20:36 setting himself a new PB.
  12. Reid Cumming (JM10) running Gisborne in 21:58 setting himself a new PB.
  13. Phil Gulbransen (VM65-69) running Puarenga in 24:05.
  14. Logan Wiffen (SM20-24) running Balclutha in 24:12.
  15. Tony Farmer (VM70-74) running Kapiti Coast in 26:41.
  16. Roger Childs (VM75-79) running Kapiti Coast in 30:55.
  17. Austin Hutcheon (VM80-84) running Taupo in 43:59.
  18. Ray Turner (VM85-89) running Gisborne in 47:33 for the first time.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *