parkrun NZ Stats 09/07/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for July 9, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 36 parkruns with 2461 (-521) parkrunners and 424 (+6) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

219 (+23) people got their parkrun barcode this week

89 (-59) ran their first parkrun this week

187 (-169) achieved personal bests this week

32 (+7) volunteered for the first time

14 (+5) new age category records were set

11 (+7) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand remains 31:07.

There was one new course record this week. Marek Schirnack (16:10 at Sherwood Reserve).

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 55:57, 95.71% in the VM95-99 age group.


4 parkrunners joined the J10 club

20 parkrunners joined the 25 club

19 parkrunners joined the 50 club

13 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Jeremy MacArthur-Smith, Siapo Auvae, Samuel Hughes, Eileen Mills, Joanna Phillips, Pierre Burger, Carly Cudmore, Matt Murray, Albert Aguila, Bryn Parry, Liz France, Leanne Hinton and Sebastian Simpson.

1 parkrunner joined the 250 club – Congratulations to Vanessa Pickering.

5 parkrunners joined the V25 club – Maria Amos, Shaun Cooper, Solly Heydenrych, Brett Bailey and Leanne Hinton.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Hobsonville Point (135), Cornwall Park (154), Hagley (231).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Flaxmere and Balclutha (18), Hamilton Park (15), Wanaka (11).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

7 parkruns had higher attendance

28 parkruns had lower attendance

Queenstown recorded the same attendance as the week before.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Pegasus, with a change of 24.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Balclutha with a change of 100%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Whangarei, with a change of -55.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Wanaka with a change of -73%

NZ Anniversaries

Blenheim (6)


Invercargill (Council works in the park)

PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hamilton Lake (18), Hobsonville Point (14), Sherwood Reserve (13), Hagley (11) and Russell Park (11).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Russell Park (11 or 31%), Whanganui Riverbank (6 or 23%), Hamilton Park (3 or 20%), Sherwood Reserve (13 or 19%) and Hamilton Lake (18 or 15%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (25), Queenstown (24), Hobsonville Point (21), Dunedin (20) and Cornwall (17).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Queenstown (24 or 41%), Hamilton Park (6 or 40%), Wanaka (4 or 36%), Balclutha (6 or 33%) and Taupo (9 or 25%).

Fastest Among Us

The 19 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Pegasus in 17:34.
  2. Amy Mchardy (JW15-17) running Porirua in 19:04.
  3. Angela Doig (SW30-34) running Pegasus in 20:00.
  4. Shriya Dalvi (JW11-14) running Porirua in 20:50.
  5. Nicole Cameron (SW20-24) running Hagley in 20:53.
  6. Winona Lee (SW18-19) running Hamilton Lake in 21:12 setting herself a new PB.
  7. Isis Metcalfe (SW25-29) running Tauranga in 22:21.
  8. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 22:23.
  9. Shamiso Mawer (VW40-44) running Barry Curtis in 22:24.
  10. Brooke Martin (JW10) running Porirua in 22:46.
  11. Melissa Bray (VW50-54) running Porirua in 22:49.
  12. Carolyn Marshall (VW55-59) running Cornwall in 22:59 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  13. Marissa O’leary (VW45-49) running Hagley in 23:12.
  14. Kat Macmillan (VW45-49) running Tauranga in 23:12.
  15. Christine Fraser (VW60-64) running Whangarei in 24:59.
  16. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Millwater in 26:01 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  17. Marieke Van Zon (VW75-79) running Sherwood Reserve in 34:30.
  18. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 34:51.
  19. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 50:32.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Fionn Cullinane (SM25-29) running Hamilton Lake in 16:01 setting himself a new PB.
  2. Nick Moore (VM45-49) running Owairaka in 16:27.
  3. Daniel Du Toit (SM18-19) running Trentham Memorial in 16:33.
  4. Hassan Mccall (JM15-17) running Trentham Memorial in 16:42.
  5. Nicholas Latty (VM35-39) running Hagley in 16:50.
  6. Alex Witt (SM20-24) running Pegasus in 16:55.
  7. Oliver Norman (SM30-34) running Hobsonville Point in 17:44 setting himself a new PB.
  8. Ben Winder (VM40-44) running Whangarei in 17:52.
  9. Grant Mclean (VM50-54) running Western Springs in 17:55 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  10. Callum Wos (JM11-14) running Trentham Memorial in 18:11.
  11. Ovin Angammana (JM10) running Porirua in 18:41 setting himself a new PB.
  12. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Puarenga in 18:57.
  13. Bruce Edwards (VM60-64) running Puarenga in 19:38.
  14. Gavin Stevens (VM65-69) running Owairaka in 20:51.
  15. John Kent (VM70-74) running Millwater in 22:43 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  16. Brian Mitchell (VM75-79) running Blenheim in 26:56.
  17. David Hamilton (VM80-84) running Western Springs in 31:22 setting himself a new PB.
  18. Garth Barfoot (VM85-89) running Sherwood Reserve in 50:57.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 55:57.

Record Breakers

There were 14 age category records broken this week:

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *