parkrun NZ Stats 07/05/2022

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for May 7, 2022.

In New Zealand there were 37 parkruns with 3447 (-28) parkrunners and 426 (-34) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

277 (+22) people got their parkrun barcode this week

214 (+28) ran their first parkrun this week

446 (-54) achieved personal bests this week

43 (+2) volunteered for the first time

24 (-10) new age category records were set

9 (-3) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average run time in New Zealand increased to 31:05.

There were three new course records this week: Nathan Tse (14:55 at Lower Hutt), Michael Voss (15:18 at Puarenga) and Ruan Meintjies (17:35 at Sherwood Reserve).

The top age graded runner was Margie Peat at Cornwall Park with a time of 21:36, 95.29% in the VW65-69 age group.


5 parkrunners joined the J10 club

37 parkrunners joined the 25 club

18 parkrunners joined the 50 club

11 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Christopher Wells, Jono Willis, Tania Honey, Mark Van Deursen, Maree Reid, Kent Deverson, Lloyd Millar, Modecai Nkhwazi, Bartosz Morawiec, Lynne Keelty, Peter East and Mark Lewry.

0 parkrunners joined the 250 club

7 parkrunners joined the V25 club – Kieron Batt, Linda Van Der Kroef, Martin Jones, Jo O’Sullivan, Coen Banks, Kat McMillan and Malcolm Hutchins.

Michelle Selby, Heather Leslie and Glynis Ng achieved their 50th volunteer milestones and Andrew Jones achieved his 250th volunteer milestone this week.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Lower Hutt (222), Cornwall Park (236), Hagley (289).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Hamilton Park (25), Ōtaki River (18), Balclutha (18).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

15 parkruns had higher attendance

21 parkruns had lower attendance

One parkrun had the same attendance as the week before – Cambridge NZ.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Lower Hutt, with a change of 62.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Invercargill with a change of 44%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Tauranga with a change of -30.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Ōtaki River with a change of -47%.

NZ Anniversaries

Lower Hutt (10)

Balclutha (4)



PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (40), Barry Curtis (30), Owairaka (30), Lower Hutt (27) and Dunedin (23).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Otaki River (6 or 33%), Hamilton Park (8 or 32%), Owairaka (30 or 25%), Russell Park (11 or 23%) and Sherwood Reserve (12 or 21%).

The most first timers were at Owairaka (27), Hagley (24), Cornwall (23), Hamilton Lake (21) and Lower Hutt (21).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Russell Park (21 or 44%), Sherwood Reserve (20 or 34%), Whanganui Riverbank (8 or 30%), Balclutha (5 or 28%) and Hamilton Park (6 or 24%).

The Fastest Among Us

The 18 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Fleur Pawsey (VW40-44) running Hagley in 19:29.
  2. Caitlin Bassett (SW18-19) running Hagley in 19:43 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  3. Bella Earl (JW15-17) running Whangarei in 20:13.
  4. Lucy Hannah (JW11-14) running Porirua in 20:16 setting herself a new PB.
  5. Amanda Wallis (SW30-34) running Palmerston North in 20:25 setting herself a new PB.
  6. Nicole Sattler (VW35-39) running Taupo in 20:27 setting herself a new PB.
  7. Krystyna Knight (SW25-29) running Owairaka in 20:59.
  8. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 21:36.
  9. Jane Muir (VW45-49) running Hamilton Lake in 21:46 setting herself a new PB for the first time.
  10. Tui Summers (VW50-54) running Foster in 21:50.
  11. Anneke Muller (SW20-24) running Palmerston North in 21:52.
  12. Carolyn Marshall (VW55-59) running Kapiti Coast in 22:06.
  13. Nuala Dunne (VW60-64) running Whanganui Riverbank in 23:23 setting herself a new PB.
  14. Greer Robinson (JW10) running Palmerston North in 24:32 setting herself a new PB.
  15. Carey Dickason (VW70-74) running Blenheim in 27:13.
  16. Jacqueline Wilson (VW75-79) running Trentham Memorial in 35:08 setting herself a new PB.
  17. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 36:38.
  18. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 51:41.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Christopher Dryden (SM20-24) running Hagley in 14:49.
  2. Nathan Tse (SM25-29) running Lower Hutt in 14:55 setting himself a new PB.
  3. James Mcleay (JM15-17) running Invercargill in 16:32.
  4. Mike Robinson (VM35-39) running Gisborne in 16:38.
  5. Craig Iversen (VM45-49) running Invercargill in 16:38.
  6. Chris Mardon (VM50-54) running Pegasus in 16:40.
  7. Sam Walker (VM40-44) running Owairaka in 16:52 setting himself a new PB for the first time.
  8. Cullern Thorby (SM18-19) running Taupo in 17:03 setting himself a new PB.
  9. Oliver Norman (SM30-34) running Barry Curtis in 17:28 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Caleb Wagener (JM11-14) running Barry Curtis in 17:31.
  11. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Puarenga in 18:44.
  12. Chris Keith (VM60-64) running University of Waikato in 19:48.
  13. Harrison Brown (JM10) running Hagley in 20:50 setting himself a new PB.
  14. Ian Ross (VM65-69) running Barry Curtis in 21:05.
  15. John Kent (VM70-74) running Whangarei in 22:01.
  16. Mervyn Burt (VM75-79) running Pegasus in 30:18.
  17. Graham Richardson (VM80-84) running Owairaka in 36:01 setting himself a new PB.
  18. Geoff Foreman (VM85-89) running Gisborne in 51:55.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 01:02:28.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats. You can view the top 100 countrymen table here. Each week is on a different sheet.

2 replies on “parkrun NZ Stats 07/05/2022”

Is the the first time we’ve had all 37 events taking place on the same day? A very fitting way to celebrate 10 years of parkrun in NZ.

Hi Nigel, it’s our second week of all 37 events taking place. Last week was a warm up for this main event!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *