parkrun NZ Stats 04/03/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for March 4, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 40 parkruns with 5122 (+1258) parkrunners and 535 (+45) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

405 (+19) people got their parkrun barcode this week

284 (+56) ran their first parkrun this week

686 (-137) achieved personal bests this week

45 (+17) volunteered for the first time

21 (-4) new age category records were set.

11 (+3) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand increased to 31:25.

There were two new course records this week. Fionn Cullinane ran 15:28 at Invercargill and Sjors Corporaal ran 16:16 at Whakatane Gardens.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Trentham Memorial with a time of 52:25, 114.88% in the VM95-99 age group.


9 parkrunners joined the J10 club

34 parkrunners joined the 25 club

22 parkrunners joined the 50 club

12 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

  • Ara Harakeke: Riley Holden
  • Barry Curtis: Mun Yang, Gerard Bourdillon
  • East End: Alice Ryan
  • Hamilton Lake: Justin Vodane
  • Kapiti Coast: Melissa Mead, Chris Mead
  • Lower Hutt: Tina Kerr
  • Palmerston North: Warrick Joe, Ross Campbell
  • Western Springs: Anna Hickey, Terence Thompson

3 parkrunners joined the 250 club

  • Dunedin: David Sharp, Ross Gatenby
  • Hagley: Terry Churchill

5 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Hayden Zervos, Lyn Robb, Yuliya Bozhko, Leighton Hare and Daniel O’Sullivan.

Iain Banks achieved his V50 milestone at Queenstown, Kate Southern achieved her V100 milestone at Palmerston North.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Millwater (251), Cornwall Park (264), Hagley (536).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Balclutha (28), Russell Park (25), Hamilton Park (24).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

20 parkruns had higher attendance

15 parkruns had lower attendance

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was East End, with a change of 82.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was East End with a change of 210%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Broad Park with a change of -148.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Broad Park with a change of -57%.

Attendance Records


NZ Anniversaries

Cambridge (6)



PBs and First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (86), Millwater (36), Dunedin (34), Cornwall (33) and Foster (30).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Lake2Lake Trail (10 or 34%), Broad Park (29 or 26%), Foster (30 or 24%), Ara Harakeke (29 or 20%) and Flaxmere (10 or 20%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (79), Queenstown (67), Sherwood Reserve (32), Millwater (30) and Puarenga (30).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Queenstown (67 or 54%), Taupo (24 or 35%), Wanaka (22 or 32%), Puarenga (30 or 31%) and Sherwood Reserve (32 or 27%).

The fastest among us

The 19 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Foster in 17:20.
  2. Esther Keown (SW30-34) running Tauranga in 18:23 for the first time.
  3. Hannah Bartram (SW20-24) running Hagley in 18:35 setting herself a new PB.
  4. Kimberley Iversen (JW15-17) running Invercargill in 18:43.
  5. Sally Gibbs (VW55-59) running Palmerston North in 18:51 for the first time.
  6. Megan Foster (SW18-19) running Hagley in 19:15.
  7. Nicola Corinne Handley (VW40-44) running Hagley in 19:36.
  8. Lisa Brignull (VW45-49) running Hagley in 19:40.
  9. Krystyna Knight (SW25-29) running Owairaka in 19:56.
  10. Maia Holden (JW11-14) running Ara Harakeke in 20:15 setting herself a new PB.
  11. Margie Peat (VW65-69) running Cornwall in 21:43.
  12. Carolyn Morton (VW50-54) running Hagley in 22:05 setting herself a new PB.
  13. Marcia Hunter (VW60-64) running Greytown Woodside Trail in 23:58.
  14. Christina Symons (JW10) running Hagley in 24:11 setting herself a new PB.
  15. Jennifer Smith (VW70-74) running Millwater in 25:11.
  16. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 33:05.
  17. Julie Boshier (VW75-79) running Russell Park in 37:40.
  18. Marion Griffith (VW85-89) running Cambridge NZ in 43:57 for the first time.
  19. Clasina Van Der Veeken (VW90-94) running Whangarei in 51:59.

The 20 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Fionn Cullinane (SM25-29) running Invercargill in 15:28 for the first time.
  2. Corban Straker (SM20-24) running Hagley in 15:30.
  3. Sjors Corporaal (VM45-49) running Whakatane Gardens in 16:16 setting himself a new PB.
  4. Casey Thorby (SM18-19) running Taupo in 16:27.
  5. Hassan Mccall (JM15-17) running Trentham Memorial in 16:33.
  6. Alex Kelliher (VM35-39) running Hagley in 16:57.
  7. Lachlan Mcintosh (SM30-34) running Lower Hutt in 17:15 for the first time.
  8. Brent Nijssen (VM40-44) running Hamilton Lake in 17:38 setting himself a new PB.
  9. Andrew Crosland (VM40-44) running Lower Hutt in 17:38.
  10. Dean Chiplin (VM50-54) running Hamilton Lake in 17:38 for the first time.
  11. Nic Ratcliffe (JM11-14) running Anderson in 18:08.
  12. Peter Caudwell (VM55-59) running Puarenga in 18:42.
  13. David Creamer (VM60-64) running Lower Hutt in 19:01.
  14. C J Iversen (JM10) running Invercargill in 19:58.
  15. Trevor Ashe (VM65-69) running Tauranga in 21:29 setting himself a new PB.
  16. Peter Cunningham (VM70-74) running Whanganui Riverbank in 22:46 setting himself a new PB.
  17. David Spurr (VM75-79) running Millwater in 25:02.
  18. Fred Smith (VM80-84) running Millwater in 29:54.
  19. Garry Humpherson (VM85-89) running Whakatane Gardens in 33:40.
  20. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Trentham Memorial in 52:25 for the first time.

Record Setters

There were 20 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 countrymen can be found here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for additional stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *