parkrun NZ stats 03/07/2021

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for July 3, 2021

In New Zealand there were 34 parkruns, with 3400 (+444) parkrunners and 399 (+57) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

249 (+34) people got their parkrun barcode this week

171 (+56) ran their first parkrun this week

371 (+16) achieved personal bests this week

26 volunteered for the first time

43 (+34) new age category records were set (Sherwood Reserve parlrun launched)

14 (+10) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average run time in New Zealand remains 30:59.

There were two new course records this week: Jacqueline Kemp (22:49 at Sherwood Reserve) and Shaun Taylor (18:44 at Sherwood Reserve).

The top age graded runner was Bernadette Jago at Hagley with a time of 22:14, 92.58% in the VW65-69 age group.


26 parkrunners joined the 50 club

15 parkrunners joined the 100 club – Ann Douglas, Rowan Ingpen, Dave Evans, Nick Hall, Tony Milne, Alister O’Callaghan, Matt Robinson, Dean Viviani, Chrissy Fay, Natalie McNaught, Mark Rainier, Nick Drinnan, Johnnie H, Christine Hosking and Sarah Fairley.

1 parkrunner joined the 250 club – Congratulations to Ollie Adams (Tauranga).

5 parkrunners achieved their V25 milestone – Richard Schofield, Sam McCready, Graeme Crompton, Jeremy Rogers and Steve Doughty.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Cornwall Park (215), Hagley (256), Sherwood Reserve (265).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Greytown Woodside Trail (27), Balclutha (25), Wanaka (24). 

Sherwood Reserve set its attendance records at 265.

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

12 parkruns had higher attendance

16 parkruns had lower attendance than last week

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Whanganui Riverbank, with a change of 42.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Whanganui Riverbank with a change of 120%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Pegasus with a change of -155.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Pegasus with a change of -63%.

NZ Anniversaries

Whanganui Riverbank 1

Porirua 8



Personal Bests

The most PBs were at Hagley (36), Cornwall (23), Barry Curtis (23), Whangarei (23) and Millwater (19).

The most PBs by percentage of field was University of Waikato (10 or 28%), Western Springs (19 or 19%), Gisborne (8 or 19%), Foster (13 or 18%) and Hobsonville Point (17 or 16%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (SW30-34) running Pegasus in 17:22.
  2. Esther George (SW25-29) running Lower Hutt in 18:09 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Charli Miller (SW18-19) running University of Waikato in 18:45.
  4. Ana Sidwell (JW15-17) running Porirua in 18:57 setting herself a new PB.
  5. Pip Meo (VW35-39) running Western Springs in 19:31.
  6. Amy Hurly (JW11-14) running Millwater in 20:04 for the first time.
  7. Carolyn Banks (VW45-49) running Cornwall in 20:16.
  8. Shamiso Sisimayi (VW40-44) running Lower Hutt in 20:26 setting herself a new PB.
  9. Meg Mckay (SW20-24) running Dunedin in 21:57 setting herself a new PB.
  10. Carolyn Marshall (VW50-54) running Kapiti Coast in 21:59.
  11. Bernadette Jago (VW65-69) running Hagley in 22:14.
  12. Robyn Perkins (VW55-59) running Hagley in 22:19.
  13. Christine Fraser (VW60-64) running Whangarei in 23:17.
  14. Judith Bradshaw (VW70-74) running Whangarei in 25:50.
  15. Sofia Chapman (JW10) running Puarenga in 28:26.
  16. Anna Reid (VW75-79) running Hagley in 32:31.
  17. Sheila Waters (VW80-84) running Blenheim in 46:14.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Christopher Dryden (SM20-24) running Hagley in 14:46.
  2. Daniel Roswell (SM18-19) running Hagley in 15:47 setting himself a new PB.
  3. Shogo Watanabe (SM25-29) running Hagley in 16:00 setting himself a new PB.
  4. Theo Walker (JM15-17) running Hagley in 16:03 setting himself a new PB.
  5. William O’connor (SM30-34) running Hamilton Lake in 16:31 for the first time.
  6. Anthony Jackson (VM35-39) running Trentham Memorial in 16:53.
  7. Nathan Jones (VM40-44) running Pegasus in 16:57.
  8. Keith Burrows (VM45-49) running Western Springs in 17:21 setting himself a new PB.
  9. Troy Harold (VM50-54) running Millwater in 17:28.
  10. Hassan Mccall (JM11-14) running Trentham Memorial in 17:44.
  11. Malcolm Cornelius (VM55-59) running Foster in 18:52.
  12. Ovin Angammana (JM10) running Porirua in 19:52.
  13. Gavin Stevens (VM65-69) running Cornwall in 20:22.
  14. Stephen Adams (VM60-64) running Hagley in 20:53.
  15. John Kent (VM70-74) running Whangarei in 24:06.
  16. Rod Gill (VM75-79) running Hamilton Lake in 28:50.
  17. Peter Ellis (VM80-84) running Kapiti Coast in 31:26.
  18. Ray Turner (VM85-89) running Cornwall in 39:33.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 56:06.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *