parkrun NZ Stats 03/06/2023

parkrun NZ Attendance and Milestone Stats for June 3, 2023.

In New Zealand there were 41 parkruns with 5185 (+478) parkrunners and 550 (+33) volunteers, plus any pending results.

In brief

407 (+9) people got their parkrun barcode this week

298 (+17) ran their first parkrun this week

732 (+20) achieved personal bests this week

38 (+10) people volunteered for the first time

26 (+11) new age category records were set

9 (-1) runners recorded sub-17 finishes

The average finish time in New Zealand increased to 31:31.

There was one new course record this week. Catherine Lund ran 18:29 at Dunedin.

The top age graded runner was Colin Thorne at Whangarei with a time of 58:37, 102.73% in the VM95-99 age group.


13 parkrunners joined the J10 club

40 parkrunners joined the 25 club

27 parkrunners joined the 50 club

11 parkrunners joined the 100 club:

  • Anderson: Todd Goggin
  • Cornwall Park: Berit Follong
  • Foster: Deborah Ridge
  • Greytown Woodside Trail: Kathy Borland
  • Millwater: Winston Sweatman, James Turnbull
  • Owairaka: Jongdoo Kim, Blair Martin
  • Palmerston North: David Jones
  • Tauranga: Tom Wilford
  • Whangarei: Brett Wallace

5 parkrunners joined the 250 club

  • Barry Curtis: Selena Chan
  • Dunedin: Lynne Kerr
  • Hamilton Lake: Heather Bouda
  • Kapiti Coast: Roger Childs
  • Millwater: Ella Kirkpatrick

6 parkrunners joined the V25 club: Kathy McKendry, Dawn Cleary, Jion Waqanivere, David Akers, Phillip Treweek and Mark Lewry.

* V50, V100 and V250 milestones aren’t recorded in the same way, so if you know of others please let me know either in the comments below or email runswithabarcode@gmail.com.


Biggest New Zealand parkruns: Palmerston North (239), Cornwall Park (295), Hagley (453).

Smallest NZ parkruns: Balclutha (32), Russell Park (29), Hamilton Park (21).

Of the New Zealand parkruns that took place both last week and this week:

30 parkruns had higher attendance

10 parkruns had lower attendance

Owairaka recorded the same as last week with 156.

The biggest increase in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Lower Hutt, with a change of 76.

The biggest increase in attendance (by percentage change) was Lake2Lake Trail with a change of 135%.

The biggest drop in attendance (by number of parkrunners) was Hagley with a change of -68.

The biggest drop in attendance (by percentage change) was Barry Curtis with a change of -23%.

Attendance Records


NZ Anniversaries




PBs & First Timers

The most PBs were at Hagley (87), Cornwall (70), Hobsonville Point (37), Waitangi (36) and Hamilton Lake (33).

The most PBs by percentage of field was Whakatane Gardens (9 or 28%), Gisborne (19 or 25%), Trentham Memorial (15 or 25%), Waitangi (36 or 24%) and Cornwall (70 or 24%).

The most first timers were at Hagley (49), Waitangi (49), Cornwall (44), Western Springs (36) and Queenstown (32).

The most first timers by percentage of field was at Queenstown (32 or 37%), Lake2Lake Trail (6 or 35%), Waitangi (49 or 33%), Broad Park (30 or 27%) and Hamilton Park (4 or 27%).

The fastest among us

The 17 fastest females in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Hannah Oldroyd (VW35-39) running Hagley in 17:24.
  2. Boh Ritchie (JW15-17) running Hamilton Lake in 17:49 setting herself a new PB.
  3. Maia Holden (JW11-14) running Waitangi in 19:08 for the first time.
  4. Naomi Mcgarva (SW30-34) running Hobsonville Point in 19:14 setting herself a new PB.
  5. Krystyna Knight (SW25-29) running Owairaka in 19:18.
  6. Stella Hammond (SW18-19) running Owairaka in 19:20 for the first time.
  7. Alison Leroux (SW20-24) running University of Waikato in 20:29 for the first time.
  8. Angela Hawkes (VW45-49) running Owairaka in 21:11.
  9. Cathy Kirkpatrick (VW40-44) running Millwater in 21:19.
  10. Shireen Crumpton (VW50-54) running Lake2Lake Trail in 21:52 for the first time.
  11. Melissa Bray (VW55-59) running Owairaka in 22:09 setting herself a new PB.
  12. Riley Holden (JW10) running Waitangi in 22:28 setting herself a new PB.
  13. Jane Pairman (VW60-64) running Broad Park in 23:10 setting herself a new PB.
  14. Nuala Dunne (VW65-69) running Palmerston North in 23:29 setting herself a new PB.
  15. Jennifer Smith (VW70-74) running Millwater in 25:02.
  16. Anna Reid (VW80-84) running Hagley in 32:51.
  17. Pauline Lane (VW75-79) running Hagley in 40:21.

The 19 fastest males in New Zealand by age category, in pace order, were:

  1. Matthew Arnold (SM25-29) running Cornwall in 16:03 setting himself a new PB.
  2. Robert Van Deursen (SM20-24) running Barry Curtis in 16:19.
  3. Gen Foo (VM40-44) running Whanganui Riverbank in 16:22.
  4. Chris Sanson (VM35-39) running Palmerston North in 16:36.
  5. James Hills (SM30-34) running Owairaka in 16:54 setting himself a new PB.
  6. Jacob Lean (JM15-17) running Palmerston North in 17:23 setting himself a new PB.
  7. Gene Rand (VM45-49) running Millwater in 17:23.
  8. Dean Chiplin (VM50-54) running Hamilton Lake in 17:30 setting himself a new PB.
  9. Grant Mclean (VM55-59) running Waitangi in 17:37 setting himself a new PB.
  10. Percy Haughey (JM11-14) running Hagley in 18:17 setting himself a new PB.
  11. Jack Coleslaw (SM18-19) running Foster in 19:28.
  12. Rudy Baptist (VM60-64) running Cornwall in 19:46.
  13. Steve Fairley (VM65-69) running Millwater in 21:42.
  14. George Fisher (JM10) running Taupo in 21:54.
  15. John Kent (VM70-74) running Whangarei in 22:18.
  16. David Spurr (VM75-79) running Millwater in 24:34.
  17. Fred Smith (VM80-84) running Millwater in 28:40.
  18. Garry Humpherson (VM85-89) running Whakatane Gardens in 37:09.
  19. Colin Thorne (VM95-99) running Whangarei in 54:41.

Record breakers

There were 14 age category records broken this week:

Top 100 Countrymen can be viewed here.

Thanks to Paul Ellis for extra stats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *